Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

J-Music is all around us

I really love this month’s Hello Japan Mini Challenge topic. J-Music is one of my biggest reason for loving Japan so much…and…because I am sure that I will write quite a lot for this month’s challenge, so I think a bit of Introduction won’t hurt.

To see the challenge, please click on the picture 🙂

Before stumbling to J-Rock, I only knew Japanese Music through Dorama and Anime’s soundtracks.

I started listening to J-Music intensely, especially J-Rock, in the beginning of the new millennium. At that time I was sooooo boreeeed with new American rock bands…they all sound the same to me!! (I mean no offense to anyone who like nowadays American Rock Band) I like a lot of bands from ‘the Metal Era’, after grunge’s God died…every band seemed to make the same kind of music. I stopped listening to any new bands from America (I still am a big fan of British Music) and keep on listening to the old rocks such as Guns n Roses, Metalica, Bon Jovi, Nirvana, Aerosmith and so on.

And then….

I heard Finale by L’Arc~en~Ciel and fell in love instantly and becoming their biggest fan. After that, I started searching for more and more music from Japanese Rock Bands. They all sound so different in my ear. I felt like I finally find my ground again. I listen to a lot of J-Rock.

Although….

I’m too busy to keep up with any new J-Rock bands now. Japan has so many rock bands, it’s hard to catch up with them.

Right now, my taste of music is varied from old American rock to Japanese rock, and from British rock to Classical music 🙂 … I love music, it is as important as food.

Because my all time favorite band is L’Arc~en~Ciel…so it is fair to start my Challenge from them 🙂 . I will soon write about One Piece’s Soundtrack, Do As Infinity, Dorama’s Soundtrack, X-Japan, Gackt, Luna Sea and Dir en Grey….but maybe I think of something else.

I have already written about these bands: Monoral and La Cryma Christi.

Thank you Tanabata for this fun challenge 🙂

Here are my round up post:

  1. A Tribute to L’Arc~en~Ciel
  2. Taiko and The Amazing Hono O Daiko
  3. The Sound of Anime and Tokusatsu

=================================================

I ran out of words in the end of January 🙂 so…the video I’ve edited for my last post will put in this post instead, I don’t want it to be a waste.

These are J-Rock Bands that I kinda like….you know, other than L’Arc~en~Ciel

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

6 comments on “J-Music is all around us

  1. Teresa
    January 6, 2010

    I am looking forward to reading about L’Arc~en~Ciel! You are really good at writing, by the way. Just curious, what is Hello Japan Mini Challenge?

    • Novroz
      January 7, 2010

      Aw thank you Teresa 🙂 *blush*

      I’ll put the link to the challenge soon so you can read all about it (I already put the link on my side bar)

      A brief explanation: it’s a challenge to write about Things related to Japan, it changes every month. Lat month was about temple and this month is about music. If you have a blog…Join!!

  2. gnoegnoe
    January 12, 2010

    Hee novroz’, I’ll be writing more than one post for ‘Music to my ears’ as well! Fun isn’t it? 🙂

    Just added you to my rss-reader 🙂

    • Novroz
      January 12, 2010

      yeaaah it is fun 🙂

      I am trying not to write all the time…baricade my self to just write 1 post per week…I don’t want to see Mr.Linky fill with too many of my name 😉

      I’ll be waiting for your post 🙂

  3. tanabata
    February 2, 2010

    You’re very welcome. I’m glad you enjoyed this month’s topic. And thanks for sharing some of your favourite bands. I enjoyed listening to the YouTube clips. (BTW, sorry it took me to the end of the month to stop by, I have no idea where January went so quickly!)

    • Novroz
      February 2, 2010

      Don’t worry…I’m glad you stopped by 🙂 …I wish next month (this month to be exact) will be another fun challenge.

      Yeah I share the same feeling!! a month goes by so fast and unnotice

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on January 6, 2010 by in Excessive Listener and tagged , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,554 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads