Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

The Lord of The Rings : The Fellowship of The Ring

Fellowship of the Ring

 

Three rings for the Elven-kings under the sky
Seven for the Dwarf-lords in their halls of stone,
Nine for mortal men doomed to die,
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows Lie
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie

 

Such a powerful opening, don’t you think so?

For me, The Lord of the Rings is the greatest fantasy epic of our time. I love this series so much. I haven’t read a lot of series in my life, but as far as all the series I have read, none  can  overthrown The lord of The Rings from my heart. TLoTR has EVERYTHING!! Great story written in beautiful language and it ends gracefully.

I have read TLoTR 3 times but all those 3 were read before I have a blog. I feel that something is missing in my blog, I have reviewed a lot of books and yet the one I like the most was not here among the other books I have recently read…this can’t be tolerated! Therefore, I reread TLoTR once again and I can assure you that it won’t be the last. I don’t want to write a review of one of the greatest books ever made simply based on what I remember…I want to relive it again before sharing it.

The lord of the Rings consists of 6 books in 3 tittles, book 1 and 2 are in The Fellowship of The Ring; book 3 and 4 in The Two Towers; and book 5 and 6 in The Return of the King. This trilogy is the after story of The Hobbits.

There was a place called Middle Earth where many kind of living beings lived together. There’s human, elf, dwarf, hobbit, troll, orc, and many others.

The Fellowship of the Ring

Book 1

In this book, it told the story of a little people called the hobbits, they were sometimes called the Halflings, and the finding of the great ring. The hobbits were like human but shorter like children, they were happy but ignorant to the world outside. They were not well-known by other creatures.

Bilbo Baggins, a rich and peculiar hobbit, once found a magic ring (from the story of The Hobbits). He didn’t know that the ring hold a powerful evil. Gandalf the Grey, a wise wizard, suspected the ring and asked Bilbo to give the ring to his heir, Frodo Baggins.

Gandalf then learnt that the ring belonged to the dark Lord, Sauron. It was the ring that will give Sauron full power. “One ring to rule them all, one ring to find them, one ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them, in the land of Mordor where the shadow lies”.

Frodo, accompanied by his trusted servant, Sam Gamgee, and his cousins, Meriadoc Brandybuck and Peregrin Took, were asked to go to Rivendell to decide what will happen to the ring. In the middle of their journey, they met a ranger called strider. These five people were chased by 9 Ringwraiths (the loyal servants of the dark lord)

Book 2

This book told the story of the journey that all 9 fellowship of the ring had to endure.

Frodo, Sam, Merry and Pippin arrived safely in Rivendell. There, an Elf Lord named Elrond helped decide what to do with the ring. The final decision was to destroy the ring of power by throwing it into the crack of Mount doom in the land of Mordor.

The long journey to the land of enemy was perilous. Elrond sent 9 people to match the 9 Ringwraiths, Frodo the ring bearer, the wisest of all hobbits; Sam, the loyal servant with kind and gentle heart; Merry, the bravest hobbit; Pippin, the youngest and reckless hobbit; Gandalf, the leader of the fellowship who was also the wisest and the strongest one; Aragorn, the descendant of the king who was both brave and wise; Legolas, the elf prince; Gimli, a stout dwarf and Boromir, a brave man who came from Gondor, the 1st ford that hold the army of sauron.

These 9 people were separated in the end of this book and their journey continued to The Two Tower.

This review was written after my 4th reading of the book, I love this trilogy so much. On the previous 3 readings, I had no time to write a review…and somehow I felt like I couldn’t make a review that will do justice to the greatness of this book.

The reason why I love this book so much is because of the language that J.R.R Tolkien used, it was beautiful…it wasn’t as old as Shakespeare but it wasn’t as modern as nowadays books…for me it sounds like language of royalty…simply elegant and beautiful…I love reading every word in this book. Apart from the language, the story is also beautiful and amazing, J.R.R. Tolkien had created a make belief world that felt almost real. He created the language for elves, dwarves and other languages, he also created the family tree and the history behind every events. J.R.R Tolkien is the master of fantasy…no other fantasy writer has made a thorough imaginary world like he did. He also wrote strong characters, every character, no matter how small the part they played has their own characteristic.

I give all three books of the lord of The Rings 5 stars.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on September 30, 2009 by in Excessive Reader and tagged , , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,554 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads