Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

The Heredity of Taste

I have had this book (alongside the 210th day) for almost a year, it rested nicely on my book shelf…there’s always another book to read. I guess it was hard for books from early 20th century to compete with books from late 20th century. I’m truly grateful for this Japanese Literature Challenge3 because it urges me to read it.

The Heredity of TasteThe Heredity of Taste was made in 1906 by Natsume Souseki. The original title is Shumi no Iden. It was said that this book is the only book that showed Souseki’s feeling toward war. “This is Souseki’s only work of anti-war literature, and in some ways it marks him as a renegade in Meiji society” an introduction by Stephen W Kohl. It was the Russo-Japanese war of 1904-5.

The Heredity of Taste consists of less than 100pages but it took me 2days to finish it…I’m not used to read classic literature, and therefore it was a bit hard for my head to digest, sometimes I need to re-read certain paragraphs in order to comprehend it’s meaning. But, once I get the grip of the story things started to get easier to understand…and when the beautiful lady appeared, the story becomes more interesting.

The story was told by an I-centered character, from the begining till the end of the story we never know his name. When he was in Shimbashi Station, he saw a large crowd of people. It was a crowd welcoming home their family back from war. He then saw a young man that looks so much like his friend who had died in the war. That young man was welcomed by her mother…that incident brought deep memory over his friend.

Kou-san, Kawakami Kouichi, was the narator’s hero. He admired Kou-san for his leadership, calmness and all the positive attitude he posseses. He remembered how Kou-san never climbed out of the ditch, how his mother never had a chance to welcome him back. Souseki emphasized this sentence over and over again to show the price needed in the name of victory. At the 1st half of the book, the narator told us about the war and the cruelty of war on the peolpe who were left behind.

Upon seeing that young man, he decided to visit Kou-san’s grave in Jakko-in Temple. He saw a very beautiful woman on Kou-san’s grave. This woman was mistery for him, a mystery needed to be solved, Both for himself and for Kou-san’s mother. The mystery was solved by his theory of Heredity of Taste, a strong feeling passed through generations.

All I can say once I finished reading this book was ‘wow this book is beautiful’. It started slow for me but ended beautifully. I give this book 4 stars (I really like it).

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

One comment on “The Heredity of Taste

  1. Bellezza
    August 28, 2009

    I’ve never heard of this title, so I’m glad that you reviewed it. Even better is that you feel it’s worth four stars! The author is on the list of recommended books, but I’m glad to know of this specific title. Thanks!

    Novroz’ Answer
    Yeah I know 🙂 I also want to read I’m a Cat but it had to wait. I gave 4stars because I love the ending

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on August 26, 2009 by in Excessive Reader and tagged , , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,554 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads