Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Naoko

naoko

Naoko was written by Keigo Higashino, it was originally called Himitsu (secret). This book had won The Japan Mystery Writers Award. I borrowed this book from JF Library simply because the summary on the back cover looked interesting and intriguing.

The story is about a man named Sugita Heisuke, he was married to Sugita Naoko and had a daughter named Sugita Monami. Heisuke has a wonderful live, he enjoyed talking to his wife and daughter, and he loves both of them so much. But one day, a terrible accident took his happiness away. His wife, Naoko, died and his daughter, Monami, was in comma. The reason why Monami is still alive was because Naoko tried so hard to protect her from the accident.

When Monami woke up from her comma, she wasn’t Monami anymore, she was Naoko. Naoko took over Monami’s body…so the one that actually died was Monami not Naoko. Heisuke was forced to live in this condition, an awkward condition where his daughter is also his wife. At first everything went smoothly with little problem, but when Naoko (in Monami’s body) turned into teenager, things started to become really hard for both of them. On the peak of their problem, Monami’s spirit returned.

I enjoyed the book a lot, but somewhere in the middle when Naoko was a teenager, I found the book a bit boring….so at that time I did a lot of fast reading, which mean I skipped a lot of line but still able to keep up with the storyline. The 1st half of the book is very interesting and funny, the 2nd half of the book is divided into two, boring and then very exciting. When Monami returned is the part that becomes more and more exciting, and the ending makes it ever better

Somehow I don’t think the title Naoko really fits this book…the whole story is mostly about Heisuke and his point of view…I think Himitsu is a better title than Naoko.

I have learnt from some books that a great ending can change a not so good book into an amazing book and it goes vice versa. Naoko has a great ending and therefore makes this book as a great book (unlike Harry Potter which turns from an amazing book into a not so good book). I really like Naoko, I gave 4 stars for this book.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

5 comments on “Naoko

  1. Wulan
    July 31, 2009

    aaaaaaaaaaaargh…..want to read it!!!!!

  2. Mel
    August 24, 2009

    great review-will add this work to my now very large TBR list of Japanese novels

  3. oh
    August 30, 2009

    Interesting premise for the book – and glad it picked up. Always a treat when that happens – how did you find the book? Japanese literature is a whole new world to me. Thanks for this!

    Novroz’ Answer
    I agree on that one 🙂 japanese literatures are so different than western but they have their own magic.

    I found this book in JF Library (Japan Foundation)…I like to borrow any book that caught my attention in that library….sometimes I got lucky, which mean the book is good, sometimes I don’t. I was sort of trial and error but fun experience 🙂

  4. Pingback: 용의자X – Yonguija X (Perfect Number) | Polychrome Interest

  5. Pingback: G@me (2003) – A Movie With So Many Twists | Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on July 30, 2009 by in Excessive Reader and tagged , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,521 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads