Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

R.E.M : Perfect Square

R.E.M. is one of few bands that can survive and still exist for many years. They have their own style that separates them from the rest. Their genre is rock but not too hard. They are Peter Buck in Guitar, Mike Mills in Bass and Michael Stipe in Vocal. The 1st song that caught my attention and made start listening to them was Losing My Religion…it’s a timeless song that never bored me. I’m not gonna say that I’m R.E.M. biggest fans, because I’m not…but I do follow their music and really like their music. Their music is different without losing the sense of catchiness…let’s just say it’s so R.E.M. I knew R.E.M. since I was in junior or senior high school (can quite remember the exact time). They wrote interesting lyrics to describe their feeling.

rem

Yesterday I found their Live DVD which contains a lot of my favorite songs…so without slightest doubt I bought that DVD. It was Perfect Square, a live concert in 2004. I don’t know where the concert took place, but there were many buildings around the area…and that’s why it was called Square. It was not in club or stadium, it was in the middle of city.

They played 23 songs. They were Begin The Begin; What’s The Frequency Kenneth?; Map and Legends; Drive; Animal; Day Sleeper; The Great Beyond; Bad Day; The One I Love; All The Way To Reno; Orange Cash; Losing My Religion; At My Most Beautiful; Electrolyte; She Just Wants To Be; Walk Unafraid; Man on The Moon; Everybody Hurt; So Fast So Numb; Country Feedback; Permanent Vacation; Imitation of Life; and they closed it with It’s The End of The World as We Know It. The ones in red are the songs that I already know and of course I like all of those songs. The ones in blue are the songs I haven’t heard before but I like too…it’s very easy to like their songs.

stage

The stage was full with many colors and not too big. They came out looking like men who were just about to go to work (shirt, ties and coat). It was a fun concert, those three men (plus additional players) gave an amazing show. As usual, Michael Stipe danced his dance along the concert…he has his own style of dancing which looks funny to people who never seen it before. Mike Mills sometimes changed his instrument into piano. Before the concert, they took some request songs from their web, one of those songs were Electrolyte. They also played songs based on individual favorite.

What fascinated me was the range of the audience, from teenagers to old people…it’s like seeing three generations of fans. That puts me in the second generation ^_^.

Beside the concert, there is also an extra about their performance in Sterling Castle.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

2 comments on “R.E.M : Perfect Square

  1. nobodyouknow
    May 18, 2010

    i love R.E.M! i think their music transcends age – i listen to them at 19, and my dad listens to them at 51. it’s amazing and unifying.

    • Novroz
      May 18, 2010

      I agree with you!! Their songs can be accepted by many generation. Too bad, nowadays US bands aren’t like R.E.M, their music only reach teenagers’ ears

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on December 31, 2008 by in Excessive Listener and tagged , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,554 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads