Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

MIKA : Live in The Cartoon Motion

Mika

I bought this DVD yesterday, I’ve been searching for it for some times but it was just too hard to find…but I finally have it on my hand. As I already expected, it was a great concert of a potentially great singer. The DVD is called Live in The Cartoon Motion, taken from a Live at L’Olympia, Paris, at 30th June 2007. The Cover is so much a like with the CD…full of cartoon image.


The concert began with Relax (Take it Easy), the moment I laid my eyes on the concert I noticed how energetic Mika was, he was jumping up and down, moving and shaking his body continuously. Next came Big Girl (You are beautiful), just like its video, in the middle of the song appeared two big (fat) woman wearing sexy blue dress (if you can call it a dress), Mika dance along with those girl. Then he sat in front of his keyboard and played My Interpretation, he couldn’t stay still even though he was playing and singing at the same time. Still on his keyboard, he continued with Stuck In The Middle, which is one of my favorite songs. Next he sang a song that I’ve never heard before, it called Ring Ring, and I like it instantly. I don’t is that song belong to someone else or his. It was followed with Sweet Dreams, which is eurhythmics’ or Annie Lennox’s song, he sang it in his own way…if I don’t know the song, I wouldn’t think it was Annie’s song. And next was also another unfamiliar song, Holy Jonny was played acoustically. He then called a girl to sing along with him in Happy Ending, unlike the title the song it self is about unhappy ending. Mika’s voice is higher than her. After that he sang another old song called I want You Back which was originally sung by Jackson Five. And just like sweet dreams, he made that song as his. He jumped around during this song.


Next was another of my fav song, Love Today. It was started with a different way of singing it, instead of singing ‘daradiraridum’ (or something like that) he started it with ‘hey girl I got you carry on….’ in a high note and then pause and came the ‘daradiraridum’ thing. He was so energetic in this song and I couldn’t help my self not to sing along and jump around like him. He closed the song by playing drum from the other side of the drummer and ten he started hitting a trash bin like STOMP used to do…a very interesting act. I love this song. He introduced his band which consists of Mike Choi on Bass, Martin Waugh on guitar, Luke Juby on Keyboard, and Cherrise Ofosu Osei on Drum. Grace Kelly, which is his first single, was sung after that. He carried an umbrella just like the video. The audience sang along with him. In the middle of the song, he changed the lyric into French. Before he sang his last song, there was some kind of theatrical act (well…not that artistic kinda theatrical), Mika and the band were wearing animal suit and they were worshiping the only girl in the band (which is the drummer) and then they molested her and she hit them all. After that weird act, came the last song which is also my favorite song, Lollipop. Mika was still wearing his chicken suit and during the song he took it off slowly. In the end of the song, came some little girls (which actually women not girls) and the fat ladies. The crowded stage became merrier with many balloon and paper flying around the stage. The concert ended afterward. Great energetic concert…I really really like it.


Beside the concert, the DVD also provided us with Mika’s videos, which are Grace Kelly, Love Today, Big Girls, Relax and Happy Ending. There are also some acoustic live which consist of Grace Kelly, Everybody’s Talkin’ and Love Today….my favorite of all those acoustic live is Love Today, he has such a great voice. The last part of the DVD is a Documentary called A Long Way From Home. Mika was telling us about his tour, his childhood and his song. He has been touring for almost 8 months and he was getting tired, especially his voice. He was born in Beirut on 1983 and then they moved to Paris where he spent his childhood there. His father was kidnapped in Iraq and when he finally got home, the decided to moved and started over in London. He has 3 sisters and a bunch of aunties; this was his reason to write Stuck in the middle. He also said that he wanted to write a song for his little sister not to have sex too young, and that kinda song is not going to be heard by people so he made Lollipop, he kinda wrote the real meaning implicitly. From this documentary, I realized that Mika is actually a handsome young man…I like his songs but never pay too much attention on his look till today.

And now I wanna tell you Why Do I Like Mika!!

Mika was 1st introduced by my friend. The 1st time I heard him I like him instantly, he has a different kind of music compare to all the crap and R&B that rule the music industry nowadays. I’m so sick of that hip-hop and R&B. Mika is a breath of fresh air, his music is a combination of many style of music. He combined queen, Elton John, bee gees and many more. His voice is similar with Freddie Mercury. His songs are cheerful and have interesting meaning. And for all those reasons…I fell in love with his music.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

10 comments on “MIKA : Live in The Cartoon Motion

  1. Nina
    June 17, 2008

    Oh… Jadi ini toh yang namanya Mika…

  2. dlittle1
    June 18, 2008

    minoooo…..
    pinjem dunk….

  3. nijiko
    June 18, 2008

    Nina>> iya itu!! (komentar ga penting nih hehehe). bagus bgt loh

    Miska >>hohohoh nanti ya!!

  4. Yana
    August 7, 2008

    hmm.. jadi pengen liat. minjem ato beli aja ya?
    btw lagi2 gw dpt dvd yg gw pengen di poins square, which is Travis live. Ah kaenya ga perlu ke mangdu lagi nih, kecuali kalo pengen beli CD kosong yg banyak ato iseng pgn liat koh manis yg kadang2 ga manis itu. Hahahaha

    Novroz’ Answer
    iya!! ke mangdu cuma kalo butuh DVD2 kayak Mika gini, yang bajakan import gitu deh.

    hahahaha ko manis yang kadang ga manis…jadi kangen deh

  5. lucia
    January 13, 2009

    mika i love you “!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

  6. Tori
    September 12, 2009

    mika is one of the most talented ppl i know. i just meat him 2 weeks ago on my trip to europe on mtv on we r golden and me nd my sis had nothin to say except for this boy needs to calm down lol ; ) but i loved the song and jst cuz the music video was wild dosent mean i didnt lOvE it…..he is awsome and i hope i get to meet him som day ..i really do hope so even though im only 12 i think hes cute.. i jst had to slip tht in there but i do hope i meet him but thts in my wildest dreams though ; )

    Novroz’ Answer
    You’ve met him? wow…I envy you!!

    I wish he would come to my country to perform

  7. Jane
    April 21, 2010

    MIKAAAAA!!!! i love you! i just saw his concert in spain, best i ever saw! i dont think there is one song i dont like of his! he is the most gorgeose thing i have ever seen in my whole life! UR GOLDEN!!! ❤

    • Novroz
      April 21, 2010

      Hi Jane, thank you for commenting. I wish I am as lucky as you…I haven’t seen him Live yet, he hasn’t come to my country…I’m still waiting, maybe one day he’ll come 🙂

  8. izabella wolf
    May 15, 2010

    i like whatu wrote,the same happened with me,i fell in love with MIKA i love everything about him,write me back

    • Novroz
      May 15, 2010

      Hi Izabella…I’m glad you like what I wrote 🙂

      Eh? what do you me write you back?

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on June 16, 2008 by in Excessive Listener and tagged , , .

Categories

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 2,554 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik 😉 “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Goodreads