Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Cycle of The Werewolf by Stephen King

Cycle of The WerewolfThe dating doesn’t make sense but the power of storytelling by the great Stephen King makes everything acceptable.

Cycle of the werewolf is unlike other King’s book, not in the sense of the story but from the way he writes the book. The book begins with a page filled only with a list of months in one year. At first I was a bit confused, but when I started reading it I understood what it means, he was trying to tell what happened in those months.

The cycle of the werewolf is about a werewolf in a place called Tarker’s Mills. It was a nice little town where everybody seems to know everyone and just like most small town, it was a peaceful town until that horrible January.

I think the blurb from Goodreads has described the terror so well, so I will share it here:

“The first scream came from the snowbound railwayman who felt the fangs ripping at his throat. The next month there was a scream of ecstatic agony from the woman attacked in her snug bedroom.

Now scenes of unbelieving horror come each time the full moon shines on the isolated Maine town of Tarker Mills. No one knows who will be attacked next. But one thing is sure.

When the moon grows fat, a paralyzing fear sweeps through Tarker Mills. For snarls that sound like human words can be heard whining through the wind. And all around are the footprints of a monster whose hunger cannot be sated”

This 128 page book is actually a book telling how a werewolf keeps killing someone every month but as the killing progress we also learn how someone finally realized who the werewolf was.

Compared to other King’s book, this novella is more like a collection of a connected 12 short stories about how a werewolf can terrify someone so bad before it starts killing that person. However, I find it so well written because King managed to make each month so thrilling in a different way and what fascinates me more is that he managed to make the reader (read: me) cares for the victims. There aren’t much room for character development because we only know them as death comes near them but King had turned that little space so efficiently that can make readers cared for them.

The eery atmosphere is also well built and often a bit gory.

“It holds for a bit moment longer, bowed in on a vertical line, and lodge in it, kicking and lunging, its snout wrinkled back in a snarl, its yellow eyes blazing, it’s the biggest wolf Arnie has ever seen …”

Although it’s a really entertaining read but I sort of hope King has made a full book out of it because the foundation of the story is really good. I think if he turned this novella into a novel, it would have the similar feeling and atmosphere as Salem’s Lot.

Unfortunately, it’s so easy to spot one big mistake in the story…King didn’t follow the lunar cycle well because he wanted it to have the incident happened on the special day of each month. It happened on Valentine’s day which is okay because Valentine is on the 14th but then it also happened on 40th of July which is an impossible date to have full moon. HOWEVER, King admits that the dating was wrong simply because the temptations was simply to great to resist. I guess that’s why he only made this as a novella.

Book Detail:

Title: The Cycle of The Werewolf
Author: Stephen King
Language: English
Pages: 128
Rating: 3,5 books

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

16 comments on “Cycle of The Werewolf by Stephen King

  1. le0pard13
    February 26, 2014

    Always enjoy your Stephen King perspectives and reviews.

  2. TBM
    February 26, 2014

    Interesting. I haven’t heard of this one, but I’m curious now. Not sure the date thing would annoy me now that I know about it.

    • Novroz
      February 26, 2014

      To be honest, even though I wondered about it when I was reading it but it didn’t affect me much because I still enjoy the suspense

  3. Nekoneko
    February 26, 2014

    Nice review as always, Novia. :)

    I haven’t read this particular one, but it sounds like they changed the story considerably when they did the movie version (which I did see..). The movie was OK, but nothing special… this makes me wonder if I ought to read the original and see how different they are from one another.

    • Novroz
      February 26, 2014

      Eh??? I didn’t know there’s a movie adaptation on this!!
      I better look it up soon. Thank you for informing me, Miyuki :)
      I think you should read it, it’s only 128 pages ;)

      • Nekoneko
        February 27, 2014

        Yep… from back in 1985, but they changed the title and called the movie “Silver Bullet” so that’s the DVD you’ll need. :)

        Here’s the Trailer:

        • Novroz
          February 27, 2014

          Now…I am intrigued!! Will see if I can find it

  4. mollieandalfie
    February 27, 2014

    Love Stephen King :) xxoxxx

    Mollie and Alfie

    • Novroz
      February 27, 2014

      Whuaaa…glad to know that! I am a huge fan ;)

  5. Alice Audrey
    March 2, 2014

    I think this is a case of what the writing instructors call “kill your darlings.” The idea is that you must resist the temptation to exercise poetic license is the thing you love so much messes with the over all quality of the story.

    • Novroz
      March 2, 2014

      Thank you for sharing that information, Audrey :)
      But I am glad it didn’t ruin the story…it’s still a good one because as the story progress I honestly forgot how wrong the date was.

      • Alice Audrey
        March 6, 2014

        The corollary is that if the writing is good enough, you can get away with just about anything. It’s all about how you make a reader feel.

        • Novroz
          March 7, 2014

          Ah…in that case, King has mastered that

  6. Caroline
    March 4, 2014

    Oh this sounds so, so good. I didn’t even know he’d written a werewolf story. I have to see if I can find it. Yeah well, the date thing. It made me laugh.

    • Novroz
      March 5, 2014

      Yeah….King can’t stay away from the temptation ;)

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on February 26, 2014 by in Excessive Reader and tagged , , , , .

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 1,160 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,160 other followers

