Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Science Fair 2014

SF 1

If you think that I rarely visit your blog anymore or that my blog was lagging in new post…make that my blog and my turtle’s blog…it was simply because I was so darn busy.

Being one of three science teachers in my school, one of them is currently pregnant so we can’t burden her with this hard work…so the two non-pregnant teachers have to organize this year’s science fair. I was fortunate to have a brilliant partner, she was both smart and considerate, we worked together so well. We knew our job well. She handles the administration such as the run down and the criteria for the winner while I handles most the art works such as making posters and videos. We backed up each other perfectly.

This year’s Science Fair was different to previous science fairs…at least that’s what they told me because I am still a new teacher here. The principle wanted to have a more meaningful science fair, not only students doing simple science and don’t know the theory behind their project.

So, we came up with the basic scientific method, all students must do their project based on the scientific method’s steps which are asking question followed by doing research and constructing hypothesis. From there they have to test their hypothesis by doing the experiment. They have to analyze the data and come up with the conclusion. many students said that this year is the first time they did a serious science project.

For small kids, such scientific method is a bit difficult…well TOO difficult, so we let them do the simple science according to their cognitive ability. We also provide different intelligence by allowing students to share their science through performances. The little ones (pre-K and Kindergarten students) were the cutest performances of all. They were sooo adorable. They sang about the life cycle of animals, the weather, liquid and gas and many things.

For the upper primary to secondary, things became a bit more serious because there’s something we created an award (which hopefully will become a yearly award) called Innovation Award. Judges had to decided which experiment had the best innovating idea.

We spent a lot of time and energy to host this year’s science fair… but I enjoyed the whole process :) (even though the tiresome work led to me being sick and unable to go to work for a day)

My partner and I are so grateful to have other teachers, the office boys and of course the students to help us through the process. Thank you.

Here’s one of the performances from the little kids (I don’t share the booth because it’s just like any other Science fair booth)

IMG_4716

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

14 comments on “Science Fair 2014

  1. felis catus
    February 20, 2014

    It sounds like a fun science fair :-). I bet the children loved it.

    • Novroz
      February 21, 2014

      They said it was tiring but it intrigued them more than previous year :)

  2. Nekoneko
    February 20, 2014

    Oh Novia!! The kids are soooo cute! They look like all your hard work was definitely worth it and that they enjoyed the learning so much. I just know this is why you love your work!!

    • Novroz
      February 21, 2014

      I know!! They are adorable. I love seeing those kids walking around the school doing cute things (although I would definitely run away if being left alone in their class…watching them is enough for me, I rather teach big kids).

      I am very pleased with what we had done :)

  3. Tim The Film Guy
    February 20, 2014

    Me like science :D

    • Novroz
      February 21, 2014

      Hahah…me too and that’s why i am a science teacher ;)

  4. Alice Audrey
    February 21, 2014

    My mother is a flavor chemist, so I grew up with the scientific method. Still, I never got into the science fairs because they made a competitive sport out of it and I just didn’t get into that much math.

    • Novroz
      February 24, 2014

      Ah … you have a scientist mother, cool!
      Science fair in my school is more than just competition, the competition is just the side part because every students are compulsory to do it as it is part of assessment for science. If rely too much on the competition then the one without inquiry mind will never have the will to do it.

      • Alice Audrey
        March 2, 2014

        We had a couple of compulsory ones when I was a kid. My kids never did one at all.

        • Novroz
          March 2, 2014

          Ah…it’s a shame. I honestly think that we have to encourage students to be inquiry…they might not become scientist in the future but at least they should try it at school.

  5. Binky
    February 22, 2014

    I hope someone did something about rockets. That’s always a winner in my book!

    • Novroz
      February 24, 2014

      Rocket was not a famous topic in my school’s science fair…sorry Binky ;)

      • Binky
        February 25, 2014

        They all fail! Okay, not really.

        • Novroz
          February 25, 2014

          Hahaha…we tried to keep the school away from explosion hence no rocket ;)

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on February 19, 2014 by in All About School and tagged , , , .

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 1,168 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,168 other followers

