Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Laughing at The Brits: The Beatles and Monty Python

Monday MoviesIt is clear now that ALL British are crazy!! ;)

The more I watch British comedy the more I am hooked to it…their comedy is crazy and smart at the same time…it’s so easy to love their comedy.

I have already begin 2013 with a review BBC comedy series that I love so much, the Mighty Boosh series 2, and now I am going to continue with two old British Comedies. Both are from years I haven’t even been born yet but I really like both of them.

I am not going to have long introduction here, let’s just move on to the movies ;)

The Beatles – Help!

The Beatles - HelpDirector: Richard Lester
Writer: Charles Wood, Marc Behm
Staring : the Beatles (John Lennon, Paul McCartney, George Harrison, Ringo Starr), Leo McKern, Eleanor Bron, John Bluthal, Patrick Cargill, Victor Spinetti, Roy Kinnear
Released Date: 29 July 1965
Rating: 4 stars

I have seen this movie ages ago and already forgot the story. When I saw it in one of DVD stores I happened to pass by, I immediately bought it. I love the Beatles ever since I was a kid…in fact, The Beatles is the first band I have ever listened to and it shaped my love toward rock music.

Story : It began with an Eastern cult performing sacrificial act. When the sacrifice was about to be killed, the priestess, Ahme noticed that the sacrifice didn’t wear the sacrificial ring and without the ring the procession couldn’t be continued. High Priest Clang saw the ring on Ringo’s hand. He, Ahme and several cult members went to England to get the ring back.

 The Beatles lived in 4 flats next to each other but in the inside, the floats have no walls that separated each flat. Basically, they all lived in one big house. I like how each Beatles had their own room design. My favorite is John’s room with the bed under the floor. The most unusual one was George’s room, it had grass on its floor.

Moving on with the story, Ahme and Clang tried to steal the ring secretly. When The Beatles finally found out that there were people who wanted to steal Ringo’s ring, they went to a jeweler to have the ring removed. But the jeweler was unable to take the ring off. Then they went to a professor and again the ring won’t come off.

Meanwhile, the cult realizing they couldn’t take the ring off finally decided to sacrifice Ringo…in other word, they tried to kill him. The fun began from then on.

The comic parts of this movie come from their conversation and their physical act. The fact that The Beatles aren’t great actors also adds the comic effect. Here’s a conversation I like the most from the movie:

John: [finding a season ticket in his soup] What’s this?
Ringo: A season ticket. What do you think it is?
John: Oh. I like a lot of seasoning in me soup.

Apart from its comedy, Help! Also treats us with The Beatles wonderful songs. :) Comedy accompanied with great music…what more can you ask for?

Monty Python and The Holy Grail

Monty Python and The Holy GrailDirector: Terry Gilliam, Terry Jones
Writer: Monty Python (Graham Chapman,  John Cleese, Eric Idle, Terry Gilliam, Terry Jones, Michael Palin)
Staring : Monty Python (Graham Chapman,  John Cleese, Eric Idle, Terry Gilliam, Terry Jones, Michael Palin), Neil Innes, Connie Booth, Carol Cleveland, John Young.
Released Date: April 9, 1975
Rating:  5 stars

I have to admit that I never heard of Monty Python before…until The Mighty Boosh talked about them in this interview> here

And then I read in many articles how The Boosh is as surreal as Monty Python and how Monty Python inspired them.

They’re like the comedy Beatles…they’re Comedy Gods!” ~Noel Fielding

Peter @Wombania also urges me to watch Monty Python:

If you like British humor, you should check out Monty Python on Youtube

Because finding the DVD in Indonesia is IMPOSSIBLE and I don’t like watching a full movie in youtube, I use the only resource I have…torrentz.

What do I think about Monty Python? I LOVE IT!!! They are freakin hilarious!! I couldn’t stop laughing when I watched it. At first, I was a bit scared that my favorite comedy, The Mighty Boosh might have too much similarity with them, but I am glad they are completely different. They are same in their surrealism and bizarreness but the way they approach the sense of comedy is different.

Monty Python and the Holy Grail is about King Arthur (Graham Chapman) who went across England to find knights who could join his round table. King Arthur was accompanied by his squire, Patsy (Gilliam). He finally found some knights willing to be his Knights of The Round table, they were Sir Bedevere the Wise (Jones), Sir Lancelot the Brave (Cleese), Sir Robin the Not-Quite-So-Brave-As-Sir-Lancelot (Idle) and Sir Galahad the Pure (Palin). When they arrived at Camelot, God came and told them to find the Holy Grail.

They tried looking for the grail everywhere. They even split up so that the search would be easier. But searching the grail was not as easy as it seemed…stupid events happened all the time.

The best thing about Monty Python and The Holy Grail is the dialogue…it was witty and funny at the same time. Just few minutes after the movie starts, I already laughing so hard because of their dialogue. Lucky I found that early dialogue in imdb:

soldier: Where’d you get the coconuts?
King Arthur: We found them.
soldier:Found them? In Mercia? The coconut’s tropical!
King Arthur: What do you mean?
soldier:Well, this is a temperate zone
King Arthur: The swallow may fly south with the sun or the house martin or the plover may seek warmer climes in winter, yet these are not strangers to our land?
soldier:Are you suggesting coconuts migrate?
King Arthur: Not at all. They could be carried.
soldier:What? A swallow carrying a coconut?
King Arthur: It could grip it by the husk!
soldier:It’s not a question of where he grips it! It’s a simple question of weight ratios! A five ounce bird could not carry a one pound coconut.
King Arthur: Well, it doesn’t matter. Will you go and tell your master that Arthur from the Court of Camelot is here?
soldier: Listen. In order to maintain air-speed velocity, a swallow needs to beat its wings forty-three times every second, right?

Full version of the conversation: here

I love how silly they can be!! The movie is full of their silliness. The way they mixed animation in the story is also interesting…the one with the monster in the cave is freakin hilarious. They are really crazy!!

I am now more eager to see their other movies and their TV show :)

 

Have you seen these movies before? If you haven’t…do watch it ;)

These are my first movies for World Cinema Series :) (I will write my introduction nest week)

England/Britain

England/Britain

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

40 comments on “Laughing at The Brits: The Beatles and Monty Python

  1. Bikramjit Singh Mann
    January 7, 2013

    right what do u mean brisiths are crazy, I am not crazy :) I am british :)

    • Novroz
      January 7, 2013

      huahaha if you are not crazy that means you’re not British ;)

  2. Tim The Film Guy
    January 7, 2013

    Crazy like a fox! :D

    • Novroz
      January 7, 2013

      I like that term…crazy as a fox…although technically monkey is crazier than fox ;)

      • Tim The Film Guy
        January 7, 2013

        Quote from the Simpsons, funny stuff :D

        I am commenting an American joke on a post about British humour when I am myself British haha :D

        • Novroz
          January 8, 2013

          I like the simpsons…well used to. I haven’t seen it again in ages because my local tvstation never show it again.

          I didn’t know you’re British ;)

          • Tim The Film Guy
            January 8, 2013

            Deprived of the Simpsons, just terrible. I am indeed British, you can tell by my dry british wit haha :D

  3. le0pard13
    January 7, 2013

    Oh, yes. I’ve seen and loved these.

  4. Genki Jason
    January 7, 2013

    I love Monty Python and the Holy Grail. Monty Python are legends! There are few comedy acts as funny and intelligent as them.

    • Novroz
      January 7, 2013

      I have only seen this one, so I can’t make proper assessment…yet!! But from this one, I can see how witty they are…some are stupid jokes but most are very smart.

  5. Steph
    January 7, 2013

    Monty Python and the Holy Grail is an insanely fun movie, and it’s so much fun to quote. :-) “A mere flesh wound — I’ve had worse.” “You’re a liar!”

    • Novroz
      January 7, 2013

      Agree!!! so many fun quote…but I haven’t got them all nailed in my head yet. My favorite is clearly the coconut one. It’s a very good opening, it really draws me in.

  6. Binky
    January 7, 2013

    I’m glad you finally got to see Monty Python. I liked the Holy Grail the best of their movies, but some of their later ones got very weird. I prefer their original TV series over their movies.

    I haven’t seen Help in many many years. It was pretty crazy, but fun. I didn’t know you liked the Beatles. Even though they were a bit before my time, they are one of my favorites, especially their later, more complex music.

    British humor is definitely unique and very good!

    • Novroz
      January 7, 2013

      I have the life of Brian but won’t watch it soon because I want to watch the series first…it’s a long process to get the series.

      Ah…I grew up with The Beatles, in fact most of my favorite bands are the old England bands, The Beatles, Queen, and Led Zeppelin….the British not only make great music but also great comedy (which unfortunately I just found out recently…I should have discovered it at the same time I discovered their music)

      • Binky
        January 8, 2013

        The Beatles, Queen, and Led Zeppelin–that’s funny, as those are among my favorites, too. Queen is probably my very favorite. We must share some similar tastes in music, though I didn’t think so before since you like those Japanese bands which I’ve never even heard of.

        One other British series you might like is Fawlty Towers, made by one of the Monty Python guys. I think there’s only 13 episodes. It is considered by some to be the best comedy series ever made. Not quite as zany as Monty Python, but still very good.

        • Novroz
          January 8, 2013

          I wrote about my fav Brit bands a couple of years ago…even till this day I still fancy Brit rock music than American, they have amazing range of music color. I rarely blog about them because there aren’t many things to blog about. I always talk about Laruku (my fav band in the world which comes from Japan) because there are many things to talk about them…plus even though I love and admire those Brit bands, Laruku is still the one I love the most.

          Aha…new recommendation :) Thank you Peter. I will try to find it after I finish with Monty Python series. Hehehe for me, Mighty Boosh is still the best comedy tv series ever made…and I am the kind of person who is very loyal.

  7. TBM
    January 7, 2013

    I can’t believe I still have seen Monty Python–what’s wrong with me. Lately I’ve been hooked on a new BBC show called Ripper Street. It’s about a detective about the time of Jack the Ripper, but so far the murders haven’t been done by Ripper. Not sure if Ripper will make an appearance.

    • Novroz
      January 7, 2013

      Ow? I thought I was the only one who haven’t seen Python! I mean I have never heard of them till Mighty Boosh mentioned it.
      I haven’t heard of Ripper Street before…will search about it through google and see whether I want to see it or not. Thanks for letting me know about that series :)

      • TBM
        January 7, 2013

        It’s really new–only two episodes have been released. I hope you can find it. I’m enjoying it.

        • Novroz
          January 7, 2013

          Finding it is very easy…it’s the time required to download it it is the problem. Very slow net connection :(

  8. ruth
    January 8, 2013

    Monty Python is a hoot, yeah the Brits does have a wicked sense of humor don’t they? I want to see that Beatles one, too. Fun post, Nov!

    • Novroz
      January 8, 2013

      Thank you, Ruth :)

      You haven’t seen The Beatles movies yet?? They are fun…Their first movie is the only black and white movies I ever watched…as far as I can remember.

  9. Androgoth
    January 9, 2013

    Yes and some of us are nuttier
    than others Miss. Novia, you just
    need to see one of my videos
    on Wombania to recognise that :)

    I like Monty Python
    too, very funny :) lol

    Have a lovely Wednesday next ;)

    Andro xxx

    • Novroz
      January 9, 2013

      One of your videos? which one? I might have missed it :(

      You British are nutty and yet very kind! I haven’t yet met an annoying British always the nice ones…and that includes you my dear friend :)
      Did you know that a British author kindly sent me his book all the way from England? me, a nobody in publishing world! How kind is that?

      • Androgoth
        January 10, 2013

        Yes I remember commenting on that posting and how kind he was too, signing it and being very generous :) The videos are on Wombania, in Peter’s side bar on the right of his page :) Thank you for your kind thoughts and have a very nice rest of day and evening Miss. Novia :)

        Andro xxx

        • Novroz
          January 10, 2013

          Will watch it now :)

          • Androgoth
            January 10, 2013

            I hope that you like it :) lol

            Andro xxx

  10. Caroline
    January 9, 2013

    I’ve seen both movies a long time a go and cannot remember anything but I remember I thought Monthy Python movies were hilarious. Funny in a silly way.

    • Novroz
      January 9, 2013

      I don’t remember much of the Beatles’ movie either because I saw it when I was still in elementary…that’s why I was so eager to see it again.
      Monty is my first experience and love it so much.

      • Caroline
        January 9, 2013

        Life of Brian is really funny. There is one episode…. I will never forget it.

        • Novroz
          January 9, 2013

          I already have that one :)
          Just waiting to be watched…but I will watch something else first, you know giving some space between this Monty Python.

  11. Alice Audrey
    January 10, 2013

    You’re only now discovering the craziness inherent in British humor? I was watching Monty Python ages ago. I’ve even introduced the kids to it. Yes, with some hesitation, because that craziness can get out of hand.

    • Novroz
      January 10, 2013

      Me finding Monty Python now is actually an amazing achievement because NO ONE I know in Indonesian ever heard of them. I live in a country where English speaking movies/series are dominated by Holywood. They don’t even know the newest TVseries from England, like Doctor Who, let alone the old ones. It’s lucky Sherlock can attract quite many people here.

      I had been supplied with Holywood, HBO, and Other US TV Series my whole life (apart from the Japanese ones)… I have to find my British viewing entertainment by myself. I feel sad because I should have found this amazing comedy ages ago….I have so much to catch up.

      …although now I am a bit of the weird one because people around me have never heard of the the series or movies I currently watch.

      • Alice Audrey
        January 15, 2013

        In all fairness, I can’t think of any Indonesian TV series I’ve ever watched. It makes sense this would be new to you.

        I don’t watch a lot of Brit TV. For a while it was broadcasting on Public Television, which I could get without cable. Now I don’t get either PBS or cable, and only watch TV on internet.

        But back in the day I liked Thin Blue Line, Faulty Towers, and some whose names I can’t remember. Not quite on the order of Monty Python, but you might like them.

        • Novroz
          January 16, 2013

          Oh…you don’t want to watch Indonesian Series…most of them are crappy soaps. I rarely turn on TV just to watch what’s on TV, always turning it on to play DVD. Indonesia used to have good series but not anymore now.

          Noting it down :) I am planning to see as much Brit series I can find…I am not in the hurry but I am taking note of all series everyone share here :)

          • Alice Audrey
            January 20, 2013

            They shouldn’t be too much harder to find than Monty Python. I just wish I could remember the name of the one with the lady vicar. That one got me roflmao. And I miss spelled Fawlty Towers. Sorry about that.

          • Novroz
            January 21, 2013

            No prob :)
            Will look for Fawlty Towers when I have the time. More recommendation is always good :)

  12. Pingback: World Cinema Series 2013 « Polychrome Interest

  13. Pingback: World Cinema Series 2013 – Wrap up and Winner Announcement | Beauty is a Sleeping Cat

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on January 7, 2013 by in Excessive Watcher and tagged , , , , , .

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 1,170 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Goodreads

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,170 other followers

