Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Cillian’s Upcoming Mini-Series : Peaky Blinders

Click this button to read more about Cillian Murphy

If you are wondering where is Cillian Murphy right now? wondering because you haven’t heard much of him lately….well I am here to tell you about his upcoming project.

Cillian had mentioned in some interviews that he wishes to work in small productions for a while. After his amazing one man show in Misterman, he did Broken. Cillian was nominated for best supporting role at The British Independent Film Awards 2012 but he didn’t win it…fortunately, the movie itself won Best British Independent Film…Congratulation to Rufus Norris (the director), the producers and of course the book writer, Daniel Clay.

Side note: earlier this month, Daniel Clay had kindly shared his opinion about the book being adapted as movie with me :) It was the best post of my blogging life :)

If you miss the interview, you can read it here>An Interview With Daniel Clay.

I am still waiting for the movie to be available for the public (not only for festivals).

Apart from Broken (an Independent movie) , he also plays in TV Mini Series called Peaky Blinders which will be aired in 2013.

I first shared about about his involvement in Peaky Blinders back on August 2012, in a post called Cillian “Antagonist” Murphy.

He explained to the Chicago Tribune: “I have lots of friends that live in Los Angeles, and they love it. I just feel like I’m European, and I want to do theatre, and I want to do TV, and I want to do smaller films, and I love the big studio pictures, but I want to be near my family. It’s just a priority.”

According to Deadline.com

Cillian Murphy has been set to star as Tommy, the most ruthless brother in a family of gangsters in the six-part BBC Two drama Peaky Blinders. Created by Steven Knight, who wrote David Cronenberg’s Eastern Promises and was Oscar nominated for Stephen Frears’ Dirty Pretty Things, the series is set in 1919 Birmingham where Tommy’s family rules the lawless post-war slum neighborhoods as returning soldiers, revolutionaries and criminals fight for survival. The family is known as the “Peaky Blinders” based on their practice of sewing razor blades into the peaks of their caps.

I haven’t seen the miniseries yet (obviously), so I will let BBC.co.uk does the talking ;)

Peaky Blinders, an epic gangster saga, has started shooting in Birmingham, Leeds and Liverpool, boasting a distinguished cast that includes Cillian Murphy (Inception, The Wind That Shakes The Barley, 28 Days Later), Sam Neill (The Tudors, The Piano, Jurassic Park), Helen McCrory (Hugo, Harry Potter, The Queen).

The cast also features Annabelle Wallis (Snow White And The Huntsman, The Tudors), Iddo Goldberg (Secret Diary Of A Call Girl) and Charlie Creed-Miles (Nil By Mouth, Wild Bill).

The story begins in 1919 in the lawless slum neighbourhoods of post war Birmingham. Returning soldiers, newly-minted revolutionaries and criminal gangs all fight for survival in an industrial landscape gripped by economic upheaval. Guns smuggled home from the trenches find their way onto the streets and become lethal currency. Communists don’t just dream of revolution – they are planning for it and the Government is expecting it. As Churchill mobilizes his Special Branch forces, illegal bookmakers make fortunes in speak-easy betting shops and traumatised infantrymen drink away their shell-shock in riotous ale houses.

continue reading.

Check out a better resolution of that newspaper’s photo!

Cillian at Peaky Blinders

Here’s him on a horse:

Peaky blinder2

Here’s the original gang:

According to a photo from Changethelock.tumblr.com, they have recently done a wrap up party of Peaky Blinders…which means that we are now waiting for the post-production to finish and see in on TV :)

I don’t know about you but I am crazy with anticipation to see Cillian once again plays a bad guy….his beautiful pair of eyes could easily kill anyone ;)

….and to my delight, he will be using an accent (not American accent. I like  Cillian the best in either British or Irish accent)

Can’t wait to see this mini-series!!!

Ruthless Cilian

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

16 comments on “Cillian’s Upcoming Mini-Series : Peaky Blinders

  1. Pingback: Monthly Murphy « Polychrome Interest

  2. DEZMOND
    December 20, 2012

    definitelly not something I would watch, due to violence, but I do love the men’s fashion from that period :)

    • Novroz
      December 20, 2012

      Well, you know me…I prefer more violence than more nudity. At least the violence in movie is fake, unlike nudity ;)

      • Androgoth
        December 21, 2012

        I like both :) lol
        Well I only said ;)
        Are you having
        a nice Friday? :)

        Hey and it is the
        weekend next so don’t
        forget to have lots of
        wicked excitement ;)

        Oh and I really like your
        posting too, which is why
        I called in to see you :)

        Andro xxx

        • Novroz
          December 22, 2012

          What do you mean both?

          I know I will have a lot of excitement next week … I am having a week of no working in other word, holiday!!! Planning to meet my friends, have a crazy days of watching DVD.

          Hope you have good holiday, Andro.

  3. Caroline
    December 20, 2012

    Oooh…This is going to be a great mini-series. I hope I can watch it. He looks so handsome with that hat.

    • Novroz
      December 20, 2012

      Hear hear!!!
      I know I can never watch it in legal way as there’s no BBC here. I will rely on youtube and torrentz.

      hehe…for me, he is always handsome ;)

  4. Alice Audrey
    December 21, 2012

    He looks like a natural for the part with that cigaret in his mouth.

    • Novroz
      December 23, 2012

      I like him when he is not smoking…but you’re right, him with that cigaret looks so natural

      • Alice Audrey
        December 23, 2012

        I agree he looks better without it. I’m not a big fan of smoking. But for the part, it totally fits.

  5. thedavidryan
    December 24, 2012

    Hey there, top blog you have here, I love Cillian Murphy and put together a guide to some of his films people might want to check out here http://thedavidryan.wordpress.com/2012/12/24/a-guide-to-cillian-murphy/ see what you think and if you can suggest any other ones i have missed let me know :)

    • Novroz
      December 25, 2012

      Thank you David :)
      I love Cillian soooo much, he is my most favorite actor ever. I will check your post now :)

  6. N Pike
    January 8, 2013

    I have read about peaky blinders in my local library in Great Barr several years ago in a book about Birmingham criminals and I was totally rivetted and now at last a movie series has been produced, I can’t wait to see it. More films should be made about Birmingham’s history. Well done!!

    • Novroz
      January 9, 2013

      Thank you for sharing your thought Pike. This is the first time I hearf about this matter. I am waiting for the series because of Cillian

  7. Pingback: Murphy News : Misterman Clip, Peaky Blinders, Cry/Fly, Transcendence | Polychrome Interest

  8. Pingback: Monthly Murphy 3rd Anniversary | Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on December 19, 2012 by in Cillian Murphy and tagged , , , , .

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 1,180 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,180 other followers

