Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Three Liebster Awards

Happy September everyone :)

I want to begin my September by answering questions given to me through Liebster Award.

First of all…thank you for Michael at It Rains…You Get Wet, Andina at Inspired Ground, and Caroline at Beauty Is A Sleeping Cat for nominating me this award. I have received something similar months ago. You can read their interesting questions and my not so interesting answers here ;)

I think Liebster is one of the most creative blog awards because it makes people think…thinking about writing the questions and about answering questions given to the nominees. I will answer the question but will not create any questions at all because I can’t choose so few out of so many great blogger friends I have…and I am terribly with making questions ;)

First the set of questions from my dear fellow movie lover, Michael at It Rains…you get wet.

Here then are his questions…

  1. What is your favorite book about cinema (whichever type of book, covering any kind of film genre)?

Although I am a book worm but I don’t like reading non-fiction. The only non-fiction I am interested with is Science Book…you know books about stars or Science encyclopedias. I like movies A LOT but I don’t like reading books about movies or cinemas.

  1. What is your favorite piece of music or song (score or the needle-dropped variety) used in a movie?

I really really like John Murphy’s scoring in 28 Days Later and Sunshine. Both movies have more depth with his music. I also really really like The Raid – Redemption score, the original Indonesian score by Aria Prayogi and Fajar Yuskemal, NOT the one by Mike Shinoda…please don’t mix that up!!

  1. Charles Bronson or James Coburn?

None, don’t really like Bronson and don’t even know Coburn.

  1. What is your favorite foreign film (one made outside your country)?

Oh wow!!! There are sooooo many!!! I can’t just choose one. The Matrix, Inception, Breakfast On Pluto, Departure (Okuribito), Ringu, Alien, Terminator, The Wind That Shakes The Barley, Amazing Grace, Saving Private Ryan, etc.

  1. When watching a movie at home, what food stuff do you almost always have nearby?

Whatever available at home! I am not a must eat something kind of person when watching movie. In fact, I rarely eat something while watching at home.

  1. Vincent Hanna or Neil McCauley (reference this film if the characters don’t ring a bell)?

None…sorry, haven’t seen the movie.

  1. What movie cliché are you so tired of seeing in film?

Forced happy ending. It happens so often in Hollywood movies….you know, some stories are actually better without happy ending. And easy to guess plot.

  1. What’s the scariest scene or image your ever saw on film (and it doesn’t have to be from a horror movie)?

Sadako (Ringu) coming out of the TV set. That scene was very scary but it made me love that movie so much. Non-Scary movie would be the opening war scene in Saving Private Ryan…it looked so real.

  1. The Howling or An American Werewolf in London?

None…not much of a werewolf fan. I like ghost stories more.

  1. Ever read the source book of a film adaptation that intrigued you? If so, what’s your favorite?

Usually, it’s the other way around…I read the book then watch the movie. However, after being fascinated by Breakfast on Pluto…I have this urge to find the book and read it, but I still haven’t found the book yet.

  1. Have you ever fast-forwarded a movie just to get to the good part?

If the movie is REALLY boring…yes I have!! The last one I remember was The Boring Curious Case of Benjamin Button. The movie is terribly boring and I hate Brad Pitt but I love Cate Blanchet…so I fast-forwarded the movie just to see her scenes and to know how it ends…you know, how Benjamin Button died

PS. Not very important tho…I tried re-watching In Time by fast-forwarding it and only see the scenes with Cillian Murphy in it…and Oh dear God, that movie is amazingly bad!!! Even watching the fast-forward version bored me. For the first time in my Cillian Murphy Addiction Years…I don’t feel even Cillian can make me watch that movie more than once.

*****************************

My second batch of questions came from a fellow Indonesian Movie Blogger, Andina at Inspired Ground

Her Questions :

  1. If you could replace one movie that’s not in the Top 250 IMDB with another, what movie is it?

How to check TOP 250 in IMDB?

  • Do you have any TV series that you wish to be adapted to a screenplay?

Do check my TOP 5 TV series post>> here. The X Files – Done; Sherlock – I love to see it being adapted to a screenplay, of course still with Benny and Martin as the main characters (not that US version of Sherlock…incredibly wrong to turn the famous John Watson into a female named Joan Watson…ow please shoot me!!); Doctor Who – Please make a new movie out this amazing series!!!; Friends – there were rumours about it but nothing happened :(; Mission Impossible – well, they have made it but I want something that stays true to the series just like what The A Team did…not that silly one man show…Mission Impossible is about TEAM WORK.

  • Which superhero in a movie you’d like to date and why?

Not into superheroes…sorry! Or can I choose the Villain? Love to date Scarecrow for reasons you know why ;)

  • What is your favorite ’80s soundtrack?

Pass. Too lazy to search. Sorry.

  • What movie that you always see on a rainy day/unwell?

Breakfast on Pluto. Such a fun movie.

  • What is your most played soundtrack in your playlist/ipod/player?

Finale by L’Arc~en~Ciel, the soundtrack for Ring 0 (the prologue of Ringu) and Shinsoku by L’Arc~en~Ciel, special soundtrack for Japan from Godzilla…the reason those songs are most played is because my mp3 player is 70% filled with L’Arc~en~Ciel songs.

  • What 2011 movie that you thought was underrated?

I didn’t watch many 2011 movies…probably Buried. Not many people watched that movie around me but I think Buried was really well done.

  • What classic movie that you wish you could see them in cinema?

Alien, Terminator and Star Wars.

  • What is your favorite animated character?

The crew of Mugiwara Kaizoku (The Strawhat Pirate) from the One Piece anime

  • What is you least favorite animated character?

Hmmm…let’s see. Is the blue avatar can be considered as animation? If it can…then those blue creatures.

  • What movie icon (director/actor/actress) that you think he/she should have a biopic movie in the future?

Steven Spielberg and Christopher Nolan

************************************

Although these last sets of Questions were actually given to my Turtle’s blog, Underneath The Shell but I had done a lot of thinking and those are questions that couldn’t be answered by Kroten and Papoe so easily. I hope Caroline at Beauty Is A Sleeping Cat doesn’t mind their mommy answering her questions ;)

  • Which is your favourite painting or photograph? (Add it or link to it)

Favorite painting would be a painting of Kroten done by my dear friend, Debbie Adams. You can see it here.

  • If you could stay in another city for a year, which one would it be?

LONDON!!! Great city with so many amazing actors and string British tradition. If you have asked a country, the answer would be Japan.

  • Which language would you like to speak and why?

Nihongo (Japanese)…I always love Japanese more than English but it’s so hard to master it :( Reason: simply because I love things Japanese and would love to read Japanese novel in Japanese (so far, I can only read Manga)

  • Which is your favourite book cover?

Tough Question!! Really tough!! Hmmm….hmmm…I think I’ll pass. Next!!

  • What craft would you like to be great at?

Making dolls. I would love to make replica doll of my turtles.

  • Which is your favourite dish. Recipe included!

Rendang. Recipe can be read here.

Photo belongs to No Recipes

  • If you could design a garden what would it look like?

One with an out door pond to keep my baby turtles in it…I will put them back inside at night and back to the pond during the day. I want a Japanese style garden.

Photo belongs to Home Design Ideas

  • Which is your favourite song or piece of music? It can be one you just like at the moment or one you always loved.

Niji by L’Arc~en~Ciel … such a powerful song with great lyric.

  • If you could wake up in a movie (or book) – which one and why?

Not a movie, but a TVSeries…I would love to be in Doctor Who series and travel with the Doctor through time and space.

  • What is your favourite piece of clothing or accessory?

T-Shirt and jeans…no accessory needed.

  • What book are you reading at the moment?

Everything’s Eventual by Stephen King.

Thank you Michael, Andina and Caroline for thinking of me :)

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

22 comments on “Three Liebster Awards

  1. dirtywithclass
    September 2, 2012

    Usually if i’m watching a movie at home i’ll have ice cream

    And i don’t think i’ve ever fast forwarded a film

    • Novroz
      September 3, 2012

      Having ice cream sounds like a good idea ;)

      Good for you Julian…I am the fast-forwarding type…well for boring movies ONLY

  2. Alice Audrey
    September 2, 2012

    I’m with you on the T-shirt and jeans. No need for pearls. :)

    • Novroz
      September 3, 2012

      Hear hear ;)
      pearls are only for important event.

  3. Liebster Blog award is indeed very creative! haha..

    I didn’t know that L’arc contributed a soundtrack for Ringu. Yes, scariest image is indeed seeing Sadako got out from that TV!

    I take it you don’t like Guy Ritchie’s Sherlock Holmes? I heard about Friends’ final episode will be created into a movie, but I guess that didn’t happened. But if they’ll make a new story into a movie, I’ll watch it of course.

    I love Rendang, but not too much. Last lebaran, almost every meal I have was rendang and my stomach started acting out. I don’t like too much spicy and seasoned food.

    How to check IMDB Top 250, click here http://www.imdb.com/chart/top

    • Novroz
      September 3, 2012

      Only for Ring 0- the birthday…not Ringu.

      hehehe…nope I haven’t seen that guy movie and have no intention to ever seeing it. Even by looking at the trailer I KNOW he is not the same Sherlock I read in books.

  4. Castor
    September 3, 2012

    Ahaah I think I actually fast-forwarded The Curious Case of Benjamin Button myself. And I never do that! What a terribly dull movie indeed. Fun meme Novia, glad to learn more about your lovely self!

    • Novroz
      September 4, 2012

      I know a lot of people who also think that Benjamin Button is boring. The idea itself is good, that’s why I watch it but the execution is terrible.
      Thank you Cas :)

  5. iwankittyiwankitty
    September 3, 2012

    tanggal muda banyak uang :)

  6. Caroline
    September 3, 2012

    Thanks for participating Novia.
    Great answers, I love that garden.
    It’s interesting one of the other bloggers I gave the Liebster to makes dolls. Human dolls. They are amazing.
    I also need to try out that recipe it looks delicious. I’m sure I’ll like it.

    • Novroz
      September 4, 2012

      You’re welcome Caroline :)
      I think Japanese makes the best garden in the world…they have this sense of calm in it.
      Oh…did you know? Rendang is voted as the number one dish in ‘World’s 50 Most Delicious Foods’ list, an online poll In 2011 held by CNN International.

      • Caroline
        September 5, 2012

        Wow. That’s something. I’m really keen on doing it. I might try it next week end. I’ll let you know how it was.

        • Novroz
          September 5, 2012

          yes…do let me know :)
          And it would be better to use real coconut milk than from boxed coconut milk. It tastes better.

  7. Bikramjit Singh Mann
    September 3, 2012

    wow congrats on the award ..

    you want to come ot london.. its busy busy life there even i would not like to live there

    • Novroz
      September 4, 2012

      Thanks :)

      Well…I think it depends on how you live your life ;) I used to ho to a college where everyone was busy studying and some even got depressed because it was a very difficult subject…but my friends and I enjoyed college life so much, we always had fun and study at the same time. What I am trying to say that despite people being depressed all around us, we managed to enjoy ourselves.

  8. TBM
    September 3, 2012

    I watched The Departed again this past weekend. I love that movie. Congrats on the awards!

    • Novroz
      September 4, 2012

      Hey…you’re back :)
      I hope you had a nice little break.
      I don’t know if I want to see it again so soon…I love that movie but too sad to see it so often.

  9. Nekoneko
    September 4, 2012

    As always it’s soooo nice to get another peek inside your head and find out more neat little things about you. ;)
    Mmmmm!! The Rendang looks yummy… I’m going to have to read that recipe and give it a try!!

    • Novroz
      September 5, 2012

      Thank you Miyuki :)
      Sometimes it’s nice to share bits of myself.
      Please let me know when you finally have tried it and I hope all the ingredients can be found in US ;)

  10. Kathleen
    February 8, 2013

    Hah! Mugiwara Kaizoku is also my favorite One Piece character! I should have known you had 3 awards already! But thank you so much for answering my questions.

    • Novroz
      February 9, 2013

      Aw…so happy you also like One Piece :)
      I like your questions, they got me thinking ;)

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on September 1, 2012 by in Things I Need to Say and tagged , , , .

My Monthly Post

undefined

undefined

undefined

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 966 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

  • On the way to Papandayan :) wish me luck and hope everything goes well. 17 hours ago
  • Yeaaa ke Papandayan hari ini!! Walaupun aga ga seru nih karena anggi ga jadi ikut :( 1 day ago

Goodreads

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 966 other followers

