Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Mukodono – One out of two back to back dorama by Nagase Tomoya

As I have said in my previous review of another dorama by Nagase Tomoya, My Boss My Hero, I have been watching nothing but Japanese Dorama lately…you can call it as old interest coming back. I love Japanese Dorama since I was in Junior High. Japanese Dorama is not only entertainment but always have something valuable to share…and that is why the love for Japanese Dorama never died away. Too bad it is so difficult to find Dorama, I have to either buy Pirate DVD or Download it from internet.

Just like My Boss My Hero, I had watched and reviewed Mukodono before (The review is in Bahasa Indonesia ) but I suddenly had an urge to rewatched it. Mukodono is made before My Boss My Hero, it has similar main character to My Boss My Hero. In Mukodono, Nagase Tomoya played as Sakuraba Yuichiro who was a very charismatic, cool and handsome singer but in truth what public saw was not the real Sakuraba Yuichiro. His coolness was only an act, his true-self was a very talk-active man and a bit dorky and geeky, he loved wearing the simplest clothes.

Sakuraba Yuichiro (Nagase Tomoya) was an orphan and the manager,  Hakozaki Otohiko (Danta Yasunori) kept saying that he loved being alone and would never had a girlfriend, the fans had nothing to worry about. Without Hakozaki’s knowledge, Yuichiro was dating a girl he met in the hospital, she was Arai Sakura (Takeuchi Yuko). They always dated in secret because Yuichiro didn’t want people to know him. He was getting tired of dating in secret and wanted to end it all by asking Sakura to marry him.

Unfortunately, Yuichiro’s producer,  Komine Takuro (Tsunku) asked them to keep the marriage as a secret because he had invested a lot of money for Yuichiro’s movie and scandal could put the production down. You might think that it is unusual for pop-idol to hide their relationship…but we are talking about Japan here where some girls committed suicide when they found out that Jackie Chan had  married.

Yuichiro properly requested Sakura’s father’s permission to marry her and ended up being married with the whole family, meaning that he changed his name into Arai Yuichiro instead of sakura changing her name into Sakuraba Sakura. He had to life in Arai family. The Aray family consisted of Father, Arai Masumi (Utsui Ken); 3 older sisters, Takeyama Kaede (Akiyoshi Kumiko), Arai Azusa (Suzuki Anju), and Arai Satsuki (Shinohara Ryoko); and 2 nephews, Takeyama Ryo (Aiba Masaki) and Arai Tsutomu (Kamiki Ryunosuke). Being in that big family made Yuichiro so happy because it was his dream to be a part of a family, but not everyone in Arai family accepted him.

Little by little, everyone learned to accept Yuichiro for who he was, not just a megastar. As the new member of Arai family, Yuichiro showed his passion as part of family by helping everyone’s problems. However, their cozy family life soon shattered by paparazzi. I am going to stop here, you need to watch the series to know how they dealt with the paparazzi problems.

If you don’t follow Japanese entertainment, you might ended up saying that the paparazzi issue was too exaggerated…but Japan is a country that easily idolize their pop idol, a single scandal can shattered their carrier easily. I know this because my favorite band, L’Arc~en~Ciel had been in this situation before. When their previous drummer was caught having drugs, their popularity decreased drastically, their singles were taken off the shelf…they were almost forgotten. Thank God they could make a come back after that incident and they changed the drummer.

The Dorky Yuichiro

Mukodono is a love story that doesn’t emphasize the story too much on the love affair, it has more family problem than their love problem. I really like how they solved each problems and made them closer from those problems. Again, Nagase Tomoya, proved us that he could act…he proved it by being both the cool Sakuraba Yuichiro and the dorky Arai Yuichiro. I like seeing the handsome Sakuraba Yuichiro because Nagase Tomoya is indeed very handsome but the dorky Arai Yuichiro is also fun to watch. The love between Yuichiro and Sakura looks too mushy but still interesting to see how these two people changed significantly when they are together. Their chemistry is really strong.

In short, Mukodono is a light family drama with lots of family love value.

The Handsome Yuichiro

 I couldn’t find any video that can show you a bit about Mukodono, but I did find this video of Sakuraba Yuichiro singing his song that he keeps repeating in  the movie. The song is called Hitoribocchi no Haburashi (lonely toothbrush)

Dorama Detail

Title: Mukodono (Son in Law/ My Husband)
Genre: Family drama, comedy
Episodes: 11
Viewership rating: 15.3
Broadcast period: April 01 – June 30, 2001
Staring: Nagase Tomoya, Takeuchi Yuko, Shinohara Ryoko, Suzuki Anju, Aiba Masaki,  Tsunk, Kamiki Ryunosuke, Danta Yasunori, Akiyoshi Kumiko, Utsui Ken.
Screenwriter: Izumi Yoshihiro
Producer: Kurihara Miwako
Director: Kimura Tatsuaki, Nishiura Masaki, Kubota Tetsushi
Rating:

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

8 comments on “Mukodono – One out of two back to back dorama by Nagase Tomoya

  1. DEZMOND
    March 29, 2012

    I’m having an Asian day on Sunday at HOLLYWOOD SPY, Novia :) You might like it, I will spotlight three of the big upcoming Asian flicks :)

    • Novroz
      March 29, 2012

      I will be there on Sunday :)
      Is there any Japanese Movies in your spotlight?

      • DEZMOND
        March 29, 2012

        a Chinese one, a Korean one and I think a Southern Asian one, but I’m not sure :)

        • Novroz
          March 30, 2012

          ah…no Japanese movie? but don’t worry, I am still curious ;)

  2. TBM
    March 29, 2012

    I haven’t had any luck tracking down any Japanese Dorama, which is a shame since I would really like to experience it for myself. For now, I’m enjoying your reviews.

    • Novroz
      March 29, 2012

      It is also a difficult thing to find Dorama here, I rarely see the original DVD available here, there are few DVD but none is the one I want to have. This Dorama, Mukodono, is a dorama I got from my friend who had downloaded it earlier.
      Thank you so much for reading my reviews TBM :)

  3. Caroline
    March 30, 2012

    Same here… I’d love to watch it but can’t find any.
    Great review, Novroz. I like that the focus is more on solving the problems than on the romance.

    • Novroz
      March 30, 2012

      I am not sure that Japanese Dorama ever been released in Europe, I could be wrong tho. I think the only way to see this is by downloading it. I have just got a new dorama from my friend who had downloaded the dorama earlier.

      You know I don’t really like romance story, both book and movie. I could still watch stories that aren’t full romance ;)

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 1,160 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,160 other followers

