Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Haiku: Who am I?

I am still in the mood of writing old Japanese poem, I have tried Tanka,  now it’s time to  try haiku. just like before, I prefer writing it in Japanese and then translate it into  English.

This week’s picture from Creative Ink is really interesting, I like the expression of the character…and that’s how I came with this haiku.

Who  am I?

天使 じゃない
人間でもない
僕 は誰?

Read:

Tenshi jyanai
Ningen demonai
Boku wa dare?

Translation:

I am not an angel
Nor I am a human
Who am I?

I really enjoy this short poems…but I should get back to what I love the most soon, that is writing short story. Hopefully, next week’s picture can intrigued me to write a short.

You can read my other writing stuff here.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

23 comments on “Haiku: Who am I?

  1. roisinaobrien
    September 23, 2011

    I like this one a lot :) Haiku are so difficult to write – Well done!

    • Novroz
      September 24, 2011

      Thank you Roisin :)
      I still find it hard to write it in English,somehow Japanese syllable is easier for me.

  2. Caroline
    September 23, 2011

    It’s a nice poem but the picture unsettled me a bit. This could have been me during my Goth phase… Or even now, when I don’t work. Nose is different, but style, hair and eye color. Uncanny.
    Sorry that’s not about your poem. It’s difficult to say something profound is so few words, you did it very well.

    • Novroz
      September 24, 2011

      Aha…so I can imagine how you look like now ;)
      I like the art and the chosen color of that picture. I like it a lot that I write something, at first I wasn’t planning to write anything and then thinking it would be such a waste for that picture.

      Thank you for the compliment, Caroline.

  3. Theresa
    September 24, 2011

    The few words fit the picture well and thanks once again for the English version :D The second line had me a little confused – “nor am I a man” – on the picture we can see she is a woman, perhaps would be better to say “nor am I human”? Unless of course “man” was fully intentional, in which case I take back my piece of criticism :)

    • Novroz
      September 24, 2011

      Thank you so much for the correction, Theresa :)
      I didn’t know I mistyped it, I have fixed it thanks to you.
      I try to make the English translation as haiku too (5-7-5 syllables too),but it was so hard…so forgive the non-haiku translation.

      • Theresa
        September 25, 2011

        You’re welcome! I can understand why the translation would be very hard to make into haiku form also :)

  4. dhitzunako
    September 24, 2011

    what is the perfect answer? you can’t just say that she is a devil right ;) ? I like this one, cool riddle! welcome to haiku addiction! :D

    • Novroz
      September 24, 2011

      Definitely not a devil ;)
      She has to figure it out by herself.
      I would say I am addicted yet…but it sure is fun :) .Thank you Dhitz.

  5. Ronan
    September 27, 2011

    Interesting pic, reminds me of Avril Lavigne and Twilight.

    • Novroz
      September 27, 2011

      haha one singer and one movie I never listened and watched ;)

  6. Wanda
    September 27, 2011

    Wonderful, I love it :)

    • Novroz
      September 27, 2011

      Thank you Wanda…I assume you have written a poem for the newest one ;)

      • Wanda
        September 28, 2011

        Right you are, Novroz. I have sixty posts and only one tale, if I am not mistaken :)

  7. DEZMOND
    September 28, 2011

    I must admit I was never a fan of haiku. I don’t really get that style :) For me it is just an excuse to call a plain old sentence a poem :)

    • Novroz
      September 28, 2011

      Haiku is quite beautiful,in my opinion…I am talking about REAL haiku made by the old Japanese poets. Mine was definitely not one of those beautiful Haiku.

      here is one of my favorites:
      極楽 の (Gokuraku no)
      種 ぞ 草花 (Tane zo kusabana)
      なむ あみだ (Namu amida)

      In English:
      The autumn flowers
      Of my prayer bear
      Seeds of paradise
      by Kin’ Ei .

      The Japanese version sounds like music,that’s why I wrote Tanka and Haiku in Japanese.

      • dhitzunako
        October 13, 2011

        Komen ini membuat gue pingin bikin haiku dalam bahasa Jepang… Gyaaa…. harus belajar beneran, ga bisa dari dorama doang kayaknya ;)

        • Novroz
          October 13, 2011

          Bisa kok ;)
          Kursus cukup 2 bulan aja supaya tau cara penulisan alfabet yg benar…sisanya minta bantuan dorama-sensei, eiga-sensei, uta-sensei trakhir manga-sensei deh. Hehe aga lama sih tapi bisa kok.

  8. CBCondez
    October 6, 2011

    Aren’t you Indonesian, Nov? How come you speak Japanese? How I wish I could write haiku/ senryu and tanka in Japanese, too! It’s such a difficult form of poetry.

    • Novroz
      October 6, 2011

      Hi CB, yes I am an Indonesian but I love things Japanese, including the language. I like Japanese more than English but Japanese is not the world’s language…so I have to learn English first and self-taught myself with Japanese after that.

      Agree!! haiku and tanka are really difficult, my haiku is not real haiku as it has its rule I can’t follow.

      • CBCondez
        October 6, 2011

        Oh, I love things Japanese, too: sushi, bonsai, aikido, anime, haiku, and so much more, but most of all, I admire their discipline… it’s amazing, don’t you think?

        Watashi wa nihonggo ga wakaranai! <- (Thanks to Google Translate for that.) *Sigh*

        • Novroz
          October 7, 2011

          I agree, their discipline is amazing. Their will to study is also amazing. I teach a Japanese boy and as assitant teacher for a class of Japanese kids, compare to other nationalities that I teach, they are the best. They are really trying to study not just playing.

          aha…ja, nihongo o benkyo shimasu!! Nihongo wa muzukashii kedo omoshiroi :)

          • CBCondez
            October 8, 2011

            *blank expression* Uh, watashi wa rikai dekimasen!, Novroz-san! Lol.

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on September 23, 2011 by in Short Story & Others.

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 1,167 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,167 other followers

