Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Monday Movies : Space Jam, The Golden Compass, The Invasion

You know, I haven’t seen any new movies for2 simple reasons: 1) No interesting new movies made it into my country’s cinema yet. The distribution became really late after the tax issue. I am still waiting impatiently to see Paul. 2) My DVD player is broken and I still haven’t bought a new one yet.

therefore, I am now stuck with local TV channels.

I rarely watched TV from Monday to Friday because there were hardly anything good on TV, never expect me to start watching those hideous sinetron (Indonesian TV drama). Fortunately, there were some good movies on the weekend.

Yesterday was one of my best TV days. I sit comfortably in front on the TV set from morning to late at night. Something I haven’t done in a looong time. I watch Shinchan and NBA games in the morning till afternoon which are my routine schedule…and after that, I enjoyed watching these 3 movies:

  • Space Jam (1996)

Director: Joe Pytka
Starring: Michael Jordan, Wayne Knight, Billy West, Dee Bradley Baker, Danny DeVito, Bill Murray
Special Performance: Larry Bird, Patrick Ewing, Charles Barkley, Larry Johnson, Muggsy Bogues and Shawn Bradley.

It was such a great blast from the past. When I saw the ads, I immediately marked my calendar, I wanted to see this animation again because it’s been years since I last saw it.

I really really like Space Jam, it was a great combination of greatness and looneyness. It combined 2 things I love the most, Basket ball and Looney Tunes. It allowed my all time favorite NBA player, Michael Jordan, and my all time favorite Warner Bros character, Taz.

I admit that Space Jam is not the best animation ever made but it sure is one of the most enjoyable animations. It never made me bored. The story is so simple. To avoid being captured by little aliens, Bugs and his friends challenged them to play basket ball. The aliens stole the talent of Patrick Ewing, Charles Barkley, Larry Johnson, Muggsy Bogues and Shawn Bradley. They were no longer tiny aliens, they became big mean aliens. Bugs decided to kidnap Michael Jordan to teach them how to play good basket ball.

Rating:

After watching Space Jam, I have this sense of nostalgia running through my heart. It made me miss the old Bulls team and their unforgettable glorious years. How I wish I can see each of their games again or at least all the finals game. Jordan and Pippen were an amazing duo. Kerr and Kukoc were great supports…every single player in Chicago Bulls were amazing. They made me fell in love with NBA, a love that span through 20 years and still going on.

  • The Golden Compass (2007)

Director: Chris Weitz
Starring: Jim Carter, Tom Courtenay, Daniel Craig, Sam Elliott, Eva Green, Freddie Highmore, Nicole Kidman, Ian McKellen, Ian McShane, and Dakota Blue Richards

I have read many not so good reviews on this movie. A lot of people felt disappointed with this movie. I was indifferent with this movie. I saw this movie last night, for the 1st time, very late heh?

Despite of all those not so nice review I’ve read, I quite like this movie. As someone who loves animal, I like the idea that everyone has an animal form Daemon. I know what I want to have as a Daemon ;) tho it might not be too convenient as my daemon can’t move as fast as other animals.

The story was a bit difficult to summarize, please just read it in Wikipedia. For me, this movie is much better than Narnia. I haven’t read both books yet, so my judgment is purely based on the movie. Narnia almost put me to sleep and end up questioning why so many people like it. Watching The Golden Compass made me want to look for the book, I bet the book is better than the movie.

Rating:

  • The Invasion (2007)

Director: Oliver Hirschbiegel, James McTeigue
Starring: Nicole Kidman, Daniel Craig, Jeremy Northam, Jackson Bond, and Jeffrey Wright

TransTV really had nice humor yesterday, after a movie by Kidman & Craig, they decided to show another Kidman and Craig movie.

An alien virus had invaded human race. The virus spread quickly through human liquid such as saliva and blood. The virus will stay inactive as long as the host stayed awake. Once the host fell asleep, the virus took over the host and changed the host into a completely different person.

The movie is really thrilling, it made me glued to the TV set. Alien really has its way on me. When Kidman was on the run, I was sort of biting my finger because of the suspense. A movie that could make me hold my breath only meant 1 thing…it means I LIKE THE MOVIE.

Too bad, the ending was not really good. It would be much better if they don’t show how it all ended so happy. They should just stop the movie when they finally picked up Kidman and her kid.

Rating: 

So…what have you watched recently?

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

8 comments on “Monday Movies : Space Jam, The Golden Compass, The Invasion

  1. lifewith4cats
    March 29, 2011

    I fell asleep on the Golden Compass movie. But I have so many recommend the book to me that now I put it on my list of things to read. Like you said Books are usualy always better than the movie anyway.

    • Novroz
      March 29, 2011

      Different people fell asleep on different movies, I fell asleep on Narnia.

      Many people who read the book dis say that the movie didn’t live up to the book.

  2. Caroline
    March 30, 2011

    I liked the Golden Compass and also love the idea about the Daemon. I haven’t seen Narnia therefore I can’t compare. I read the first Narnia book but haven’t started the Golden Compass book. I could read it for the Once Upon a Time Challenge. I’d like to see Invasion. I really like Nicole Kidman.
    I’m not too sure about the other movies. Maybe the first would be fun.
    I haven’t watched that much lately and haven’t been to the cinema for a while. The choice isn’t very interesting.

    • Novroz
      March 30, 2011

      Space Jam is an old movie…I love it simply because it has my favorite NBA Player and it’s looney tunes, crazy cartoon characters.

      I have read 1 Narnia book but it was the first, I think it was the fourth book.
      Kidman is a great actress. She is so beautiful. Too bad, The Invasion received bad reviews.

      This year’s movies aren’t too exciting :(

  3. scarletsp1der
    March 31, 2011

    Ooh I agree on Invasion. I liked it, admittedly…until the ending. It’s too bad too. I recently re-watched Just Go With It again (Adam Sandler’s newest with Jennifer Aniston)! Love it!

    • Novroz
      March 31, 2011

      Nice to know you feel the same…I thought it was just me who find it hard to accept total happy ending in a ‘the end of the world’ movie like this

      Ah…I haven’t seen Adam Sandler since Bedtime story

  4. rtm
    April 1, 2011

    When I saw this tweet I thought, hmmm why is Novia doing a Daniel Craig marathon? :) I haven’t seen any of these, but I’m pretty sure I don’t want to see Golden Compass. Oh Jeremy Northam is in Invasion? I like him a lot, he should be getting more leading roles, at least as many as Daniel does. He’d make a great Bond too if he were 10 years younger.

    Well Nov, I didn’t do a weekend roundup post this past week but I watched Constantine. I thought it was ok, I watched it mostly for Keanu. Interesting ideas about heaven and hell but ultimately the story was just a mess.

    • Novroz
      April 1, 2011

      When I saw the ads, I knew it was going to be a Kidman marathon, I didn’t know it was going to be Craig marathon too ;)

      Why don’t you want to watch The Golden Compass?
      It’s not a rewatch-able material, but it wasn’t that bad.

      Awww Constantine *heart* … he is so handsome there. Story about Angel doing things outside God’s order was never my thing (that’s why I stopped watching Supernatural)…but I forgive this one because of the main actor. Tho I have the DVD, I once watched it on TV and my face was like 30cm from the TV set everytime Keanu showed up. I miss him in bigscreen.

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 1,180 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,180 other followers

