Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Different Seasons – a Summary

The BodyI finally finished reading this collection of marvelous novellas :)

Since I received my order, I have planned that I will read this book per novellas. I want to capture 1 story after  another in separate time. I started Rita Hayworth and The Shawshank Redemption last year,and the other 3  novellas this year. i have reviewed each novellas in separate posts…but I really think a summary is needed.

Different Seasons consists of 4 novellas with a wide range of stories. This book shows the writing ability owned by one of the best writers in the world,Mr. Stephen King. You might think that I am a bit bias here for saying he is one of the best author in the world because I love his works…well, I should say the notion goes the other way around, I love his works because I think he is one of the best authors I have ever read.

I know some people think that his books are crap and not worth reading, and somehow admitting they read his books is degrading their wits…well, do I care about that kind of reactions? Certainly NOT!! They just haven’t read the best out of him yet…and I should say that Different Seasons is indeed one of his best.

I admire his  honesty in his afterword about people  that often react in different ways when he said he is not only writing horror stories.

“Is horror all you write?” When I say it isn’t. It’s hard  to tell if the questioner seems relieved or disappointed.

He also didn’t mind when the editor said he might be typed if he kept on writing stuff like telekinetic, vampire, haunted hotel, etc.

I really love his closing lines.

But I’ve been in love with each of this stories,  too, and part of  me always will be in love with them,I guess. I hope that you like them, Readers; that they did for you what any good story should do — make you forget the real stuff weighing on your mind for a little while and take you away to a place you’ve never  been. it’s the most amiable sort of magic I know.

I can easily say…I am also in love with each story in here and it did take me away from the real world to the imagination world just like all the good books I’ve read.

Here are the summary for each novellas:

Rita Hayworth and The Shawshank Redemption

The first novella in Different Seasons is definitely the best out all 4 novellas in DS. It is also one of the best SK ever written. We can truly feel the power of hopes and friendship.

Most people only knew about the movie and never realize that SK is the one who wrote the  story.

My thought on Rita Hayworth and The Shawshank Redemption:

Although the writer of this book is Stephen King, don’t expect to see ghost, monster or supernatural ability, the book is pure drama about Hope and Determination. It contains lots of value for life. The writing is very good and it can change our emotions. It is written in an honest way without lots of bullshit. The closing delivered by Andy was unpredictable. Rita Hayworth and Shawshank Redemption is the kind of book that can be reread several time.

Read the whole review here.

Apt Pupil

Apt Pupil is really appealing. Although a lot of people dislike the story…I stand on the other side of the corner…I love it. It really shows how cruel stories can corrupt the mind of an innocent child.

I’m now looking for the movie.

My thought on Apt Pupil:

I really like this novella. In only 178 pages, we could see how each character’s role changes from the one who has the control into someone who is under the control. A relationship based on curiosity that turned into hate and yet, in the end, there is no one else to trust but the one they hated the most. We can also see how normal kid can easily be changed into a cold blooded serial killer because of stories that he isn’t supposed to know before he is old enough to understand them. A sleeping monster can easily be awoken if you keep on making him remember his past life.

Read the whole review here

The Body

Ever heard of Stand By Me? A nice movie from the 80s about a journey of 4 boys to find a dead body of a boy about their age?

Well…that movie is based upon this novella.

My thought on The Body:

I really like reading the 2 days journey of these boys. We could see their determination and struggle. They way they defend the body is also understandable…it might sounds weird to risk their life against bigger kids but if you read what they have to face to get to the body, it is totally worth fighting for. Each kid has their own terror to face in order to get to the body.

Read the whole review here.

The Breathing Method

This last novella is definitely something that everyone will immediately relate to SK. It’s a nice story of  an unbelievable way someone can do for her loved one.

My thought on The Breathing Method:

I know how impossible it was, a person while die instantly when his/her head was decapitated from his/her neck…but isn’t it a marvelous idea if someone  can manage to live longer so that the one she loves so much can keep on living?

Read the whole review here

Book Details:

Title  : Different Seasons
Author  : Stephen King
Language  : English
Page  : 508
Publisher  : Penguin Group
Rating  :
Challenge : The 2011 Stephen King Reading Challenges, Suspense & Mystery Reading Challenge 2011 (for Apt Pupil and The Breathing Method). My sign-up post for both challenge.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

7 comments on “Different Seasons – a Summary

  1. Caroline
    February 23, 2011

    I sure sounds like a good collection. You are so right in what you write about people being prejudiced about his work. But there is such a lot of prejudice in the world anyway. I wonder if people do question their reactions? Do they ever wonder why they react so strongly towards Stephen King?

    • Novroz
      February 23, 2011

      I wonder the same thing too…but some people just react out of instinct,I think.
      I also have my own prejudice toward some books, Twillight series is one of them…I haven’t read it yet but I have already labeled it as something I will not read,but I can explain why I don’t want to read it.

  2. Dee - Reads Everything
    February 23, 2011

    In India, Stephen King is one of the more popular authors, so I wouldn’t say that our readers are prejudiced. Personally, my fav novels by him have been the fantasy-eque ones like the Gunslinger series.
    I totally agree with you on the Twilight series however!
    Still haven’t read it, and probably never will.

    • Novroz
      February 24, 2011

      Yeaa…it’s nice to know he is Famous in India, in Indonesia he is not that famous…I rarely seen his books being translated into Indonesian language. Although I refuse to read his translated books, but being translated shows how famous a certain writer is. There are a lot of Fantasy books being translated here.

      I have read The gunslinger and haven’t gotten the right feeling yet, maybe I should try finding the 2nd book to get the same vibe as everyone else.

      You know, I was laughing so hard when I read that SK doesn’t like Twilight too… hehe like author like son (taken from like father like son)

  3. Pingback: Top-5 Books of 2011 « Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on February 23, 2011 by in Excessive Reader and tagged , , , .

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 1,189 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik ;) “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,189 other followers

