Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

To Kill a Mocking Bird

To Kill a Mockingbird, I should say, is one of the most famous books in the world. A lot of people think that Harper Lee had written a masterpiece. People I know and even my number one author said that To Kill a Mockingbird is a great book. I have wanted to read this book for ages, mostly because of my curiosity to prove whether the book is really great or not. I know I often have different opinion on books compare to everyone I know.

To Kill a Mockingbird is indeed a good book but I would say it as great book. I really enjoy the journey of reading it, the life of the Fiches is very interesting….so natural just like our daily life.  However, it’s not a book I want to reread in the future.  It didn’t leave an awed feeling in me. I have a feeling that my lack of awed feeling is due to the language. It’s weird to read that thick Southern Accent. Sometimes, I have to reread the passage to get the meaning of that passage.

This book really represents the racial issue at that time. People were still divided into white people and Negroes. The story was told through the eyes of a little girl named Scout (Jean Louise) Finch.

The book began with 3 little kids who tried to make the oddest man in Maycomb to come out. Jem Finch, Scout Finch and Dill were living their childhood together doing many things, included fishing out Boo Radley. The man has been kept for years inside his house. There were all sort of superstition about the man. Dill came into Maycomb only in summer. Without Dill, both Jem and Scout went to school.

Scout hated her school. I was kinda curious at this part, the teacher won’t allow Scout to read before she entered the third grade. That was obviously the strangest teaching method I’ve ever read…then again, who can blame the teacher who taught somewhere in 1930.  She tried everything to plead to her father so that she didn’t have to go to school anymore. Atticus Finch, her father, was the wisest father I have ever read. What confused me was the fact that none of his children called him dad or father, they simply called him Atticus. Was that the way people called their parents in that era?

Even though reading Scout, Jem and Dill activities were fun, but the real exciting part came when Atticus landed on a case that he couldn’t possibly win. He had to defend a black man named Tom Robinson from a rape accusation made by the lowest white man in town. Scout was called names by other students, Jem could still keep his head together although he finally snapped when one elderly shouted bad things about their father.

The court was the part that I enjoy the most in this book. It was so clear that Atticus had a strong proof too set Tom Robinson free…but the book was not talking about this era, it was the era where the white people felt so superior and black people were not their equal.

“Jem, how can you hate Hitler so bad an’ turn around and be ugly about folks right at home —“

That statement was said by Scout when she talk about one of her teachers that think Hitler was bad for hating Jews but she, herself, hated the Negroes. Isn’t ironic?

I couldn’t tell what happen next because things kept getting better as it reached the end. The first part of the story intertwined with the second part of the story.

What I like the most in this book is the simplicity of life that can be told nicely and well done. The Finches are indeed wonderful Family. The main idea that Harper Lee was trying to share is also well delivered. It’s a good book for kids to see what an awful year that time was when it came to colored people. It’s indeed a good book that I feel sorry that I didn’t share the same amount of enthusiasm as most people I know

Book Details

Title: To Kill a Mockingbird
Author: Harper Lee
Language: English
Pages: 376 pages
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Rating:
Challenge: New Author 2011, What’s In The Name? 4 (A book with evil in the title)

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

12 comments on “To Kill a Mocking Bird

  1. Mel u
    February 20, 2011

    I agree with your final thoughts on the book-I think most of the people who love the book do so for personal reasons as it somehow speaks to their life and experiences-It very much an American book-I think it is considered a great novel by those who like its social message-

    • Novroz
      February 20, 2011

      The social message is really good and I love that part a lot.

  2. Caroline
    February 20, 2011

    I guess you expected something slightly different. Many people, like myself, have seen the movie before reading the book. It is one of the best books I have ever read and when I gave it to my father he had the absolute same feelings as I had. And we are not American but French/Swiss/Italian. I then gave it to a friend of mine and she is from Wales in the UK and she also thought it was one of the best books she has ever read. I don’t think it is an American thing at all. I think it has a lot to do with the change of the world we live in. There is safety and reliabilty in the world of To Kill a Mockingbird and even though ugly things happen the children still feel safe. Atticus is a larger than life figure, he is one of the most incredible characters in any book. But I do agree with mel u, everybody loves the book for personal reasons. No one will think this is not a good book but it will not move everybody in the same way. I love to read about the American South, I like the architecture and the plants and trees. And I love to hear them talk. That was all part of my reading experience. I think if someone doesn’t care so much for the setting or the cultural references then it is not the same experience.

    • Novroz
      February 20, 2011

      No one will think this is not a good book but it will not move everybody in the same way

      That is indeed how I feel, it doesn’t move me that much. A book from Indonesia, Rainbow Troop, moves me deeper than To Kill A Mockingbird…but as you’ve said, and I said it too, this is a good book and no one can say it’s not.

      I’m glad you, your father and your friend love the book and think it is one of the best books, my friends also think the same, I’m glad because I can not share the same love, I never love something because others love it, I love it when I feel like I love it :)

      • Caroline
        February 20, 2011

        That is absolutely how it should be.

  3. Chinoiseries
    February 20, 2011

    After reading your review, I am still in two minds about reading it myself… maybe I should give it a go, because I hardly know anything about the black/white issue in The States.

    • Novroz
      February 20, 2011

      Please don’t make my review gives doubt to you :)
      I have different taste to most people.

      Another example is when other people think that The Dark Towers is the best book by Stephen King but I find it as boring

  4. JoV
    February 20, 2011

    I love this book so much. It is very American South context, but the universal message of not quick to judge, prejudice, gentle wisdom won me over. Thanks for the review!

    • Novroz
      February 20, 2011

      You’re welcome :)
      You’re forgeting one more message from this book…Children often have better judgment than most grown ups.
      Thanks for reading Jo.

  5. Gnoe
    February 21, 2011

    Like you To Kill a Mockingbird had been long on my wishlist before I finally got to read it not long ago. In my ‘review’ I wrote that I was glad to have read the book but that it probably wouldn’t end up among my best reads of the year. So I guess we sort of feel the same about this book.

    • Novroz
      February 21, 2011

      Thanks for the link, Gnoe :)
      I read your review before commenting here…Nice to know we have the same feeling…it’s a good book (indeed) but it won’t be in my 2011 top-5 list.

  6. Pingback: Broken by Daniel Clay « Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on February 19, 2011 by in Excessive Reader.

My Monthly Post

undefined

undefined

undefined

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 975 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 975 other followers

