Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Under The Dome

Under The Dome is my last Stephen King’s book in 2010. Reading this 1072 pages book is my word-breaking record. I started reading it on October 18 and finished it on November 8. 3 weeks for a book this thick is incredibly fast for me, and I didn’t even skim any sentences, I read all the words in this book. I guess that shows how much I love the book. The plan was to read this book on November 8 but I couldn’t keep the temptation away so I read it before the date I was planning to read it…but, I’m glad it finished on November 8 :)

I could easily say that this is one of Stephen king’s best. In my opinion, UTD is not a horror book (there is no monster and ghost in this book), it is more like a physiological thriller. I could be wrong because people’s perception in horror is sometime different with my perception. UTD is about survival, survival from dictatorship and survival from the worst case scenario of global warming.

I’ll sum up the story first before continuing my opinion on UTD.

The story started in fast pace from many point of views around a small town called Chester’s Mill. A small airplane was suddenly crash into something invisible, and below the plane a woodchuck was cut into half. On the other side of Chester’s Mill, a truck exploded when it crashed into the same invisible barrier. Not far from that place, another car also crashed into the barrier. Meanwhile on the other side of the town, a woman’s hand was severed without even knowing what caused it. These incidents marked the beginning of the Dome days. Chester’s Mill was suddenly isolated from the outside world by an invisible capsule.

In the beginning, everyone moved on with their life as if nothing big happened, they believed that the government will help them. However, the town second selectman, Jim Rennie, had other plans in his head. He became more and more powerful. After the death of Chief Perkins, Rennie appointed Randolph to be the next Police Chief. Randolph was an idiot who was controlled by Rennie. Soon afterward, the police department was swarming with young policemen, some people called them as Rennie’s Army.

Rennie completely ignored president’s order which told him to let Colonel Dale Barbara took charge of the town. He even framed Barbara for the crimes he and his son had done. Putting Barbara inside the cell had made the town split into two sides. Rennie’s side and Barbara’s side.

Rennie’s dictatorship was not the only problem inside the dome, the dome itself gave more problems than Rennie. The Dome wouldn’t let the air outside to pass through into the town, and it kept the particulates inside the dome. The air inside the dome became dirtier than ever. The heat was also rising. Things become worst than ever as it reached the end of the book.

I will stop now because I don’t want to give any spoiler…you just have to read it to know what happened inside the dome. On contrary to the book I read before this, The Manhattan Hunt Club, which didn’t stand up for its great blurb… Under the Dome truly lives up for its great blurb. Here is the blurb I copied from the back cover

Just down Route 119 in Chester’s Mill, Maine, all hell is about to break loose…

On an entirely normal, beautiful fall day, a small town is suddenly and inexplicably sealed off from the rest of the world by an invisible force field. Planes crash into it and rain down flaming wreckage. A gardener’s hand is severed as the dome descends. Cars explode on impact. Families are separated and panic mounts. No one can fathom what the barrier is, where it comes from, and when – or if – it will go away. Now a few intrepid citizens, led by an Iraq vet turned short-order cook, face down a ruthless politician dead set in seizing the reigns of power under the dome. But their main adversary is the dome itself. Because time isn’t just running short. It’s running out.

I love every part of this book. The hectic when the dome suddenly appeared was the kind of book I always enjoy to read. The way everyone behaves under isolation is what I call as the psychological side of the book, I love reading everyone’s emotion under Rennie’s reign and under the dome that slowly kills them. And the way they try to survive is also heart-breaking.

What I like the most about this book is how constant it moves, it begins with high speed and continues in that high speed all through the story without even slowing down. When I was reading The Stand earlier this year, I truly enjoyed the beginning of the story, it moved really fast but somewhere in the middle it became too slow, fortunately almost at the end it became fast again. As for Under The Dome, there’s no slowing down…its speed was the reason why it’s hard for me to put it down.

Without a single doubt, Under The Dome is a  book for me. I’m looking forward to read more great books by King next year. So far, I have Night Shift, Blaze and Different Seasons (I have read Rita Hayworth and The Shawshank Redemption, will read the other 3 stories in separate times) on my shelf.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

15 comments on “Under The Dome

  1. Asop
    November 10, 2010

    Stephen King itu penulis novel genre apa yah? *saya males baca di wiki* :oops:

    • Novroz
      November 10, 2010

      Stephen King is the King of Horror :) sebagian besar bukunya bergenre horror, suspense dan Thriller. Karena itulah dia adalah penulis terfavorit sy.

      Tapi dia juga nulis yg non horror kdg2, film terkenal sepanjang masa Shawshank Redemption itu adaptasi bukunya. Green Mile juga dr buku dia.

      • Asop
        November 11, 2010

        Ehem… sekali lagi, saya belum pernah menonton kedua pilem ituh… :oops:

        • Novroz
          November 11, 2010

          Haha…Asop memang bukan movie buff sih ;)

  2. Caroline
    November 11, 2010

    God review. This sounds really good. It’s interesting to read how people react all different under extreme circumstances. If only it wasn’t that long… I am a bit too impatient these days. Maybe whe I have more time. It does sound like one of his best ones.

    • Novroz
      November 11, 2010

      Thank you Caroline :)
      The thickness of the book seems to put a lot of people down. I can totally understand, I would have doubt reading it too if it isn’t written by my favorite author. My 1st thick book is The Chamber by John Grisham, fortunately the book is good so I can finish it.
      Just a small info, I read an article somewhere in the net that this book will be turned into a TV miniseries…I hope the article is telling the truth.

  3. Caroline
    November 11, 2010

    Thanks for the info. We have a little collection of movies based on Stephen King’s novels. The Green Mile was the one I liked best so far. And It. The latter was done for TV I think. Any you like particularly?

  4. pseudoswashbuckler
    November 14, 2010

    Here’s a question I like to ask about Stephen King: Do you like his stories better when there *isn’t* some supernatural monster behind things–when the explanation is purely psychological? More than one person I know is convinced that once he lifts the curtain on some evil Aztec god or whatever, he’s ruined the story he has going. (Personally I like King, but I haven’t read enough of him to have an opinion on that.)

    • Novroz
      November 14, 2010

      Hmm…tough question!!

      I think it’s depend on the plot. I’ll give some examples, sorry if I give some spoilers here. When reading Cujo, I’m expecting to read a devil dog possessed by ghost or something…but it turns out to be JUST a rabid dog. As for Dreamcatcher, I like the idea of Jonesy’s mr.Gray is something he creates in his mind and Dudddits is just human (the movie turns him into an alien)
      I might be bias here because I love King a lot. But whomever the enemy turns out to be, if it fits the plot…fine by me.

  5. I also think this is one of King’s best. Like you, I felt that the action started right away and never stopped. Every time I set the book down, i wanted to open it again right away. I think that it illustrates very well how sometimes the scariest monsters are us.

    • Novroz
      January 4, 2011

      It’s really amazing how King can write a book that thick but we find it really difficult to put it down.
      I agree,this book really shows that human can be more dangerous than any ‘monster’.
      Thank you for reading and commenting Julie

  6. Pingback: How I Meet Another King’s Fan & 2 Videos of King’s Adaptation | Polychrome Interest

  7. Pingback: 11/22/63 by Stephen King | Polychrome Interest

  8. Pingback: Under The Dome – Thought on The First 3 Episodes | Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on November 10, 2010 by in Excessive Reader.

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 1,171 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Goodreads

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,171 other followers

