Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Pandemic

I haven’t bought Manga, other than Onepiece, in years. The last Manga I bought was Death Note. I only want to buy manga that I know I will read again and again, and does not consist of long volume, Except for Onepiece (I want this manga to run up till 100 volumes).

About a month ago, I saw a manga called Pandemic by Kakizaki Masasumi (Original Story by Eiga [Kansen Rettou] Seisakuiinkai). The front cover really intrigues me…but I didn’t have spare money at that time, so no matter how curious I was, I couldn’t buy it. Few days ago, I finally bought it…and I have no regret of buying it.

The story’s background is based on recent influenza virus. influenza Virus keeps on changing and Kakizaki Masasumi takes it to a higher level. At first, the story reminds me of The Stand by Stephen King, but it isn’t the same…the basic idea might be same which is an influenza virus that wipe out society while others remain immune, but the focus are different, how the story flows is also different.

This is the 1st time I saw a manga with colored pages (Indonesian edition tends to remove the colored pages). The story begins with horrifying pictures of dead people scattered on the street, some crows ate the dead. It is a scenery from February 24, 2011.

About 50 days before that horrifying pictures …

Dr. Tsuyoshi Matsuoka of Isumino hospital had an unusual patient. He looks like someone who is infected by influenza but the test gives negative result. However, the next day, his health decreases drastically. His oxygen level in his blood decreases drastically, high fever, vomiting blood, diarrhea, etc…a multi-organ failure caused by infections all around his body. He died nor long after that. His wife is also sick.

On January 5, 2011 at 03.28, Hidetoshi Manabe becomes the 1st victim of ‘IT’.

Teaser from this manga > here

From that day on, more and more people are infected by ‘IT’. A chicken farm near that area is suspected to be the cause.

Dr. Eiko Kobayashi from WHO comes to Isumino Hospital. She tries to catch the virus and finds the antidote. Eiko was Tsuyoshi’s friend. She asks for everyone’s corporation in order to fight the virus.

The owner of the chicken farm fells responsible and commits suicide, ironically few moments later, WHO claimed that the virus is a new breed and they named it ‘Blame‘. and presumably, the antidote will be ready 6 months later.. All Japan has to do is hang on and try as hard as they can till the antidote ready. More and more people are killed, so many dead bodies and there is not enough place to bury them all.

I really like this Manga…I think Pandemic is Amazing, both in the story and in the graphic. The drawing is superb and artistic. Every panel is full with background. The expression of the characters are well drawn, it gives the sense of dramatic and sadness. The story’s pace is fast but we can still follow what happen and it still has high emotion. What makes it better,the translator didn’t erase the important Japanese characters like they usually do when translating Manga…instead, they wrote its translation on the side bar…I find this revolutionary. All manga translator should do the same!

Without any hesitation, I rate this manga with 4 stars out of 5.

Here are some panels from this Manga

Last week, just a glimpse, I saw a DVD with Pandemic as its title…I wonder was it this pandemic or not? If it this, I want to watch it…I’ll search more information on this matter.

Read about the movie in here.

============================================================
I’m sharing this review for my Manga Challenge 2010 and as my 6th book for New Author Challenge 2010 and my 6th post for Read The Book See The Movie Challenge.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

14 comments on “Pandemic

  1. dhitzunako
    May 26, 2010

    Yap, the live action film is already released. Yang main sebagai pemain utama adalah Satoshi Tsumabuki (Dororo). Judul lainnya adalah Archipelago Infection. Hei, hei, liat di mana filmnya? Kalau udah nonton direview ya?

    • Novroz
      May 26, 2010

      Ow berarti benar ya…baguslah nanti daku hunting di Points deh. Waktu itu liatnya di pinggir stasiun pasar minggu.

      Hehe tentu direview :) karena bakal masuk Read The Book, See The Movie challenge

  2. zsami
    May 26, 2010

    Iya, kayaknya bener deh Miss dvd yg liat itu versi movie-nya ini..
    Btw dah baca Rainbow blm Miss? Komikusnya sama lho sama yg bikin Pandemic, a must read ;D
    I also recommend Team Medical Dragon XD

    • Novroz
      May 26, 2010

      Hehe siap2 hunting nih :)
      Belum baca Rainbow…bersambung kan? sy males beli yg bersambung krn Onepiece aja dah menguras kantong (tapi ikhlas bgt dikurasnya) jd cuma mau beli Manga2 pendek aja.

      Team Medical Dragon liat dorama aja deh, teman ada yg punya jd tinggal pinjam deh hehe

  3. Rhinoa
    August 6, 2010

    Thanks for the review as I haven’t seen this in the shops here. I like the idea and the artwork looks stunning. Glad you liked it and it was worth the wait.

    • Novroz
      August 6, 2010

      Thanks Rhinoa. There’s another Manga from the same author…unfortunately, it’s a long volume Manga.

  4. Asop
    September 20, 2010

    Yaaay! This is from the maker of “Rainbow”! :D
    Excellent arts, great story, makes me want to read another Kakizaki-sensei’s manga… :mrgreen:

    • Novroz
      September 20, 2010

      excellent art indeed!! But the story is not his. This manga was made based on a movie. I’ve reviewed the movie a bit (along with other movies).

      • Asop
        September 23, 2010

        Really? What is title of the original movie? Tell me please… :cry:

        As I ever said before, I expected the appearence of zombies in this manga, because the word “pandemic” refers to “contagion of a deadly virus that changes us to zombie” in my head :D. And, I expected too much. :lol:

      • Asop
        September 23, 2010

        Oh ya I forgot, why don’t you read another Kakizaki-sensei’s work, “Rainbow”? Great story about Japan in 1960s. And this “Rainbow” is the winner of 51st Shogakukan Manga Award. :)

      • Novroz
        September 23, 2010

        I wrote a bit about the movie here> http://t.co/ZWP5v6D

        Yeah I know rainbow, a long volume manga, I will read it if JF LIbrary owns it…No money to buy long volume manga.

  5. Carin B.
    October 15, 2010

    I saw this from your post of what you have read this year so far (on October 14). This sounds AMAZING!!!! Is this a good manga to start off with? I’m going to make a list and try to read some in 2011.

    • Novroz
      October 15, 2010

      Yes, you can start with this manga. This is an adult manga, not adult in the sense of adult scene but it’s more like a graphic novel rather than comic books.

      The art is great and the story is novel material, and it is only 1 volume.

  6. Pingback: The Hunting of the Snark « Polychrome Interest

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on May 26, 2010 by in Excessive Reader and tagged , , , .

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 1,156 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,156 other followers

