Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Desert Island DVDs

Just noticed this cool blog event from Olive’s Blog, Movienewsfirst, and as you can see my side bar. I love Challenges and memes, but I have never seen anything related to movie till now.

This wonderful idea was originally posted by Andi of fandangogroovers, A lot of people are joining to share their Desert Island DVDs and it’s interesting to read them all :)

Here’s the task:

Imagine yourself stranded on a desert island, by some strange miracle (maybe the Dharma Initiative have something to do with it) you have a DVD player and monitor but only eight movies to watch on it.  Not knowing how long until you are rescued you may have to watch them over and over again.  Which eight movies would you pick?

Hehe the idea is very simple and yet very amusing. It didn’t take long for me to think, coz the movies I’ve watched over and over again are my favorite movies. So if I was stranded in a desert island, I wish I have brought these 8 DVDs (all of them are movies that I’ve watched more than 3 times and still craving for more)

This is the best terminator movie. I like all four of them but if I can only bring one then this one will be it. I’ve watched this movie countless time. I remembered going to the cinema 3times and I always watch it every time the local-TVs play this movie again and again.

.

.

.

.

The story is so simple but it captures my heart deeply like no other drama had ever done before. This is my number 1 Cillian Murphy’s movie. I saw this movie for the 1st time a month ago and I’ve seen it 4times ever since. And planning to see it again somewhere next month.

.

.

.

.

  • Ringu

It’s a Japanese horror movie which I considered as the best horror movie ever, I have forgotten of how many I have watched the movie. Unfortunately The Hollywood version of this movie was so bad it makes me avoid all remakes by Hollywood toward any Japanese movies.

.

.

.

.

This is my most favorite TV series. I’ve watched it 3 times & still want to rewatch it again…and being stranded with no job to think about might be the best time to do it. Because I can only carry 1 DVD, so I chose the DVD of it’s 1st season. The original DVD of 1st season consists of 7 disc but I have the pirated version that fits all 24 episodes in 1 disc :) (hehehe I have to cheat a little here)

.

.

.

  • The Lord of The Rings- The Return of the King

I don’t have to say anything for this movie. I’ve watched it more than 5times and read the book about 3 times (it’s going to be my 4th soon)

.

.

.

.

.

.

  • Green Mile

I considered this as the best movie based on Stephen King’s novel. Everything just as the way SK has written it down. And I don’t remember how many times I have watched it.

.

.

.

.

.

  • The Matrix

This is the best sci-fi movie I’ve ever seen and none has come close to sit side by side with this movie (Hoping Inception will be the movie that will sit next to the matrix). I went to the cinema twice, seen the dvd … eh… I can’t remember how many times.

.

.

.

.

For this movie…my words are not enough to describe it. This is the best animation I’ve ever seen in my entire life. The story is so unusual but full of moral, the graphic is too awesome, and the colors are brilliant. I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve watched it…I love it so much.

.

.

.

.

.

So, those are my 8 DVDs I would love to carry everywhere…especially if it is an empty island.

Note :

  • The red highlight means I have to write my review on them soon.
  • These movies are not in order of likeness…I like them all equally
About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

20 comments on “Desert Island DVDs

  1. Paragraph Film Reviews
    April 13, 2010

    I’m starting to think you like Cillian Murphy a little too much dude!!! Good choices, ‘specially the Matrix / Terminator!!!

    • Novroz
      April 13, 2010

      Yes I do like him TOO much :) and thank God I’m not a dude cause that will made me a gay lol. But my judgment over his movies never clouded by his existence, I still find some of his movies a bit boring.

      Yeah The Matrix and Terminator are great action movies with amazing visual effect

      • rtm
        April 14, 2010

        Hey Novroz, hope our islands are close together so we can swap flicks and speak Indo to each other :) I haven’t seen Breakfast yet, but I will ’cause Cillian is indeed awesome. I do love all 3 LOTR flicks, but if I were to bring ‘em it’d be the entire collection and Andy would say I’m cheating! :) T2 and The Matrix would be fun to re-watch again also, great list!

        • Novroz
          April 14, 2010

          Hehe that’ll be great Ruth :) but swapping will be cheating and Andy might kick us out of the island.

          I’ve already cheated on The X Files, if I bring all 3 TLoTR movies, I’ll be doing double cheat.

          Thanks :) I watch those movies over and over again, sometimes my family and friends are wondering about my habit of re-watching.

  2. Aiden R
    April 13, 2010

    Awesome, awesome list. Was THIS close to putting The Matrix on mine and I still need to see Ringu. Great stuff, truly dig it. Also, how’s The Stand? Been staring at that on my bookshelf for a few years now and keep putting it off.

    • Novroz
      April 13, 2010

      Thanks :) I want to put more movies but unfortunately we can only choose 8 movies.

      The Stand? So far, it’s getting better and better…I can’t say it for sure yet coz I am still far from finishing it, but it MIGHT become one of my favorite King’s books.

  3. Pingback: Desert island DVDs « Fandango Groovers Movie Blog

  4. fandangogroovers
    April 13, 2010

    I prefer the first Terminator and the first Lord of the Rings but a solid list all the same. Thanks for joining in, I have posted a link on the main blog

    • Novroz
      April 13, 2010

      Thank you for holding this great event :) I need more movie challenge/event/meme, I am surrounded with books event (not that I am complaining about it)…but more movie events will balance it

      • fandangogroovers
        April 13, 2010

        I have a different one planned probably for December. The details are top secret at the moment but I will let you know closer to the time.

        • Novroz
          April 14, 2010

          Yeaaa I’ll wait for it tho I kinda wish it’s closer than december ;)

          Well, at least I can use the time to check everyone’s list.

  5. Ross McG
    April 14, 2010

    breakfast on pluto.. good choice
    the sight of Brendan Gleeson dressed as a Womble would brighten up any thundery day on an island

    • Novroz
      April 15, 2010

      Yes Brendan Gleeson dancing that womble dance is very funny. The sight of Cillian both handsome and pretty will let me forget that I am all alone in the island

  6. Ronan
    April 15, 2010

    Spirited Away, wish I’d selected that, too late now, was hmmming and ha-ing over it.

    Hey, when the girl comes out of the tv in Ringu you’ll have some company on the island. :-)

    Cheers

    • Novroz
      April 15, 2010

      Yeah me too…even after watching it over and over again, I still Hmmmm-ing and Haaa-ing.

      Huahaha that’s the main idea, Sadako will be my new bestfriend in the island.

  7. Róisín
    April 17, 2010

    This is the first list I’ve seen with “Breakfast on Pluto” – Good choice. Although, it might make me homesick when I’m on the island!

    • Novroz
      April 17, 2010

      Thanks :) yeah you’re right BoP will make us homesick but it’s a good movie about survival…tho it is different kind of survival

  8. Katie
    April 17, 2010

    Great list. Lots of my favourite movies on there.
    I think you’re the firdt person to take a TV series. Clever

    • Novroz
      April 17, 2010

      Thank you :) I cheat a little on that TV Series, I really like it and couldn’t possibly leave that behind

  9. Pingback: The award winning Fandango Groovers Movie Blog « Fandango Groovers Movie Blog

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on April 13, 2010 by in Excessive Watcher and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 1,154 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

Goodreads

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,154 other followers

