Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Sounds of Anime & Tokusatsu

This is my third post for January’s Hello Japan Mini Challenge – Music to my ears. This time I want to do a little flash back to my childhood.

I could say that the 1st Japanese Music I’ve heard is music from the opening of Anime & Tokusatsu.

I’m sure that everyone knows what Anime is…but some of you might know nothing about Tokusatsu. Tokusatsu is Japanese live action superheroes, such as Ultraman, Kamen Rider and Power Rangers (American Tokusatsu).

As time goes by, changes are happenng in Anime & Tokusatsu’s soundtrack…and that’s what I want to talk about here.

When I was in my late elementary years and in the beginning of my junior high years…I saw lots of Anime and Tokusatsu, they were the first reason I like Japan. At that time, their opening songs are so iconic and original. Original because they really made a song for the Anime & Tokusatsu…the songs really defined what the show is all about. Iconic because everyone remembers that song even after years of stop watching it and even the people who didn’t watch the show know about that song.

Kids remembered the lyric both the sub-dubbed one or the original one.

Here are some example of those iconic Anime & Tokusatsu’s opening songs.

Doraemon, Anime that has run for more than 30years, has the most unfogetable song.

Konna koto ina, dekitara ina, anna yumme konna yumme ippai aru kedo, minna minna minna kanaete kureru, fushigi na pokette kanaete fureru…aji sonna tabita ina…ee take koputa…an an an totemo daisuki…Doraemon (Translation: I want to do this, I want to do that, there are so many things I want to do, everything can be granted from the magic pocket…).

Tho it’s been 20 years since I 1st watch this anime…I stil remember the song and I still watch it once in a while too ;)

Google V, it was the 1st tokusastu I’ve ever watched…Power ranger is somewhat like Google V. I used to sing along whenever the opening song started. Since I didn’t know Japanese back then,I made up my own lyric except for this part ‘google Red, google Black, pink, yellow and blue

Sailor Moon. I didn’t watch this anime because I was (and am still) not really into Shoujo Anime (anime for girls)…but I couldn’t escape from it’s iconic opening song.

Kamen Rider Black. Talking about this Tokusatsu brings back so many childhood memory. The intro of the opening song successfully made children stop playing and run to their television set. And again, I made up my own lyric ;p

last but not least Saint Seiya. There’s no one in J-Community (people who love Japanese entertainment) who doesn’t know Sant Seiya’s song…the song is still often played in many events.

I made a video of those songs plus pictures to let know the characters of those Anime & Tokusatsu’s opening songs

Nowadays….

Anime & Tokusatsu’s songs have changed drastically….they do not use original songs anymore :( they prefer to take songs from famous singers or bands. I don’t say it was a bad thing because I get to know some J-music from anime & tokusatsu, such as Asian Kungfu Generation from Naruto, Siam Shade from Full Metal Alchemist, and many more…however, I prefer the old time better, songs that are made specially for the show have better grip than songs taken from famous singers.

Here are the songs I mentioned above

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

9 comments on “Sounds of Anime & Tokusatsu

  1. Dorami
    January 29, 2010

    Ooow I love Doraemon…and yes the song stick in my head for years although I hardly watch it anymore, but I still collect all about doraemon.

    • Novroz
      January 29, 2010

      Doraemon is so cute isn’t it?!

  2. tanabata
    February 2, 2010

    Fun to hear the sounds of your childhood. I can totally imagine you as a little girl singing along. :P
    Sadly I never grew up with anime so I’m not familiar with most of them.

    • Novroz
      February 2, 2010

      That was such a happy moments :)

      Living in Indonesia (especially in big cities) bounds to grow up with anime because they are in every TV Station

  3. mee
    February 3, 2010

    Did you compile that video yourself?! Great effort! :D

    I watched Doraemon, Saint Seiya, (of course!) and Kamen Raider. I didn’t like Sailor Moon the movie or manga, but I listened to almost all of its songs (got them somehow from a friend). I was never much into Google V though.

    Wish I had compiled a post on my Childhood sountrack. I may do it but a bit later. My mom had video store not long after I was born, and that’s how I got to watch a lot of the old anime, before manga and anime hit Indonesia by storm.

    • Novroz
      February 3, 2010

      Thx :) ever since I knew how to use Windows Movie Maker, I’ve become a video addict haha …I compile videos whenever I have free time. Mostly for my blog, I prefer uploading music into youtube rather than wordpress and save my media quota just for pictures.

      Me too!!! I didn’t watch sailormoon but the opening music was nice and ear-catching.

      I also watched most tokusatsu from video rental before it hit Indonesia. I used to watch Megaloman, Lionman, Gaban, Shariban, Shaider and many other tokusatsu.

      Now, I don’t watch tokusatsu anymore, I still watch some anime but I buy them because I need to hear them in Japanese not in Indonesian (subdubbed).

  4. hero factory
    April 13, 2010

    Even going through a crisis worldwide, the video game industry is still growing. Two years ago, there was a 31% increase in software production and 8% in the hardware.

  5. muramatsujo
    August 2, 2010

    you so cool you’ve one of themesong that anime??or the movies

    • Novroz
      August 2, 2010

      Thanks :) That video with the songs is made by me, so of course I have those theme song

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on January 19, 2010 by in Excessive Listener, Excessive Watcher and tagged , , , , , , , .

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 1,177 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Goodreads

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,177 other followers

