Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

A Tribute to L’Arc~en~Ciel

I first encounter this amazing band in 2001 and I became one of their biggest fans since that year. The band itself was created in 1991. NEXT YEAR, 2011, will be L’Arc~en~Ciel‘s 20th anniversary and my 10th anniversary as a true Cielers….So in honor of these 2 anniversaries, I decided to make 2010 as my pre-celebration year.

What is L’Arc~en~Ciel? And what they mean to me?

L’Arc~en~Ciel means an arc in the sky or Rainbow. Japanese has difficulty in pronouncing this word, so they usually called them as Laruku An Shieru or Laruku for short. For me, Laruku is the best J-Rock band ever created in Japan. Laruku is my number 1 band of all bands ever exists in this planet. I am addicted to their music…that doesn’t mean I don’t listen to other kind of music, I listen to a lot of music, BUT you wouldn’t find me not listening to Laruku for more than a day!! Their song will always be in my play list.

Why do I love their songs?

Because… Their songs are beautiful. Hyde’s voice is so captivating. Tetsu plays his bass wonderfully. Yukihiro creates great beats from his drum. And the sound of Ken’s guitar makes all songs sound perfect. They have created a lot of songs, and some of them are sweet, some of them are dark, some of them are fun, some of them are odd, and all of them are great songs.

My favorite songs are always depending on my mood…that’s why it is so hard to put this collection of song previews (video below!) and these previews couldn’t represent all their great songs.

A Brief History of L’Arc~en~Ciel

Tetsuya Ogawa wanted to make a band with him as the vocalist, but when he saw Hideto Takarai’s performance, he fell in love with his voice and wanted him to be the vocalist of his band. Tetchan and Hyde (Hideto Takarai) found another member for their band, Hiro and Pyro. these 4 young men from Osaka named their band as L’Arc~en~Ciel in 1991. This formation soon changed before they released their 1st album, Hiro and Pyro were changed by Ken Kitamura and Sakura. In April 27, 1993, their 1st album, DUNE, was released. A year later, July 14, 1994, they released their second album TIERRA. Their 1st single that stood through the test of time is in this album, Blurry Eyes surely is an iconic single. In September 1, 1995, they released their 3rd album HEAVENLY. TRUE came out a year later, in December 12, 1996. Unfortunately, this great album was contaminated by the irresponsible act by Sakura. Sakura was caught using drug and it affect the whole band.

They recruited Yukihiro Awaji to take Sakura’s place and recorded HEART, it was released in February 25, 1998. One of the songs in this album, Niji, is a reflection of their current state…there always be a rainbow after a hard rain. Niji is a symbolic song. Then they became the 1st J-Band that released 2 albums at the same time, ARK and RAY, in July 1, 1999…both of them reached number 1 and 2 in Oricon Chart. Their 8th album, REAL, was released in August 30, 2000. They took a long break after this album. The entire member use this break time to explore themselves in solo project.

In March 31, 2004, they released their long awaited album SMILE. This album is their 1st international album, they even perform in Marine Arena, USA. They are the 1st and the only (at least up to today) Japanese Band that ever performed in that arena. Their concert was watched by 12.000 people, surpassing their expectation of only 5.000 people will show up. Their 10th album, AWAKE, was released in June 22, 2005. They started their second hiatus after the released (and of course after performing many concerts around the country) of their 11th album KISS in November 21, 2007. During the concert tour for this album, they manage to perform in another non-Asia country. Their performance in Paris was a big success.

Laruku no Arubamu

From left to right: Dune, Tierra, Heavenly, True, Heart,Ray, Ark, Real, Smile, Awake, Kiss

Now…we are waiting patiently for the 12th album to come out in the same year as their 20th anniversary.


I have 12 months to write a series of tributes for L’Arc~en~Ciel before 2011 come. I will at least write 1 article related to Laruku for each month of this year.

My Tribute for this amazing band are:

  1. My choice of Laruku’s best music video in December 2009 >> here
  2. L’Arc~en~Ciel’s Album: Dune, Tierra, Heavenly, True, Heart, Ark, Ray, Real, Smile, Awake, Kiss
  3. L’Arc~en~Ciel’s Members: Hyde, Yukihiro, Ken, Tetsuya
  4. My collection of Laruku from bootleg to original DVD/CD.
  5. L’Arc~en~Ciel’s Long Breaks: 1st, 2nd, 3rd

Maybe you’d think that I am a bit obsess with this band and a bit crazy…and I have to say “you are so right!! And I won’t defend myself ;)”. If there is an institution for Laruku Addiction Rehabilitation Center, I have no doubt that I’ll be one of that institution’s patients.

I Love Love Love their songs so much.

This is The icon I’ll be using for each post

This series of tribute is over in February 1, 2011. It is replaced with Laruku no Tame Ni

About Novia

Guru yang mencoba menulis

28 comments on “A Tribute to L’Arc~en~Ciel

  1. Nina
    January 7, 2010

    Hey there, partner in crime! XD

    Wow, time flies so fast! We’re already at the 10th year of our uncurable Laruku fever! :D

    Indeed your L’Arc~en~Ciel articles in this blog prove just how true of a Cieler you are. I wish you good luck on your Laruku Tribute project and will be looking forward to your upcoming entries!

    And don’t forget, we’ve still got a karaoke date to do!!! XD

    • Novroz
      January 8, 2010

      It’s incureable because we don’t want it to be cured hehe.

      Thank you :) I do hope my spirit in writing won’t go away before I finish my series of tributes.

      Yeaaaa I’m still waiting for our karaoke date!! I wanna sing lots of Laruku’s songs \(^_^)/

  2. Allie
    January 16, 2010

    wow, I can see a devoted fan through your post ;)

    I like larc en ciel too but maybe I am not as true fan as you. They really make great music, don’t they!!

    • Novroz
      January 16, 2010

      I am indeed :)

      Yup!! Their great music is the reason why I am addicted to them

  3. bananamolly
    January 16, 2010

    I totally agree with you! I know how it feels, I mean I listen to other good musics out there too, but after all, I will come back to Laruku! I so love them! I just started to discover them in 2007, imagine, and now they are my no. 1 fave band of all time! :)

    Good luck on your little project! I look forward to it.

    • Novroz
      January 16, 2010

      …may you stay loving them for more than 10 years :)

      Thanks…It’ll be a year of Larc in my blog

      PS.You have a nice blog url ;)

  4. chasing bawa
    January 18, 2010

    I used to listen to a lot of L’Arc about 10 year ago and loved their songs (but I can’t remember their titles as one of my friends made a mix for me!) Hyde has such a beautiful voice!

    • Novroz
      January 18, 2010

      10 years ago? you’ve known them longer than I do…but the different is I’ve become Larc-addict :)

      They have lots of songs so it is hard to remember them all (unless for addict like me).

      Yeaaaah \(^_^)/ Hyde has beautiful voice and Larc makes great songs

  5. tanabata
    February 2, 2010

    You really are their biggest fan! :)

  6. Andrés
    March 3, 2010

    OH MAN,WE ARE THE SAME WAY OF THINKING!!!YATTA LARUKU!!!!

    • Novroz
      March 4, 2010

      Long Live Laruku :) I hope they will still be together to celebrate their 30th Anniversary

  7. Ferdinand
    February 1, 2011

    Akhirnya, sy berani memulai sebuah “a tribute to L’Arc~en~Ciel jilid II” versi saya :D
    Semoga saya bisa kyk mba novroz, dan tidak malas…
    Amin..

    Oya sy sdkt nyontek konsep dari tribute mba gak apa2 kan?? soalnya saya agak bingung mau mlai dari mana…
    hehehe

    sbg permulaan, post ini http://www.ferdinandogawa.co.cc/2011/02/tribute-to-larcenciel.html
    mohon dikomentari ya mba, untuk tahu bagaimana jelek/bagusnya post saya..
    Sankyuu… ^^

    • Novroz
      February 1, 2011

      Amin!!
      Haha gapapa kok nyotek2 dikit yang penting ga jiplak ;) Semangat ya!!

      Okeh…saya akan langsung menuju TKP

  8. Ferdinand
    February 2, 2011

    L’Arc~en~Ciel 5 best PV, my review… hehehe

    http://www.ferdinandogawa.co.cc/2011/02/larcenciel-5-best-pv.html

    ditunggu komennya…
    Kayaknya sih jelek bgt kata2nya… :(

    sankyuu…

  9. Ferdinand
    February 8, 2011

    Finally L’Arc~en~Ciel Song, BLESS Review ^^

    http://www.ferdinandogawa.co.cc/2011/02/larcenciel-bless-review.html
    :)

    • Novroz
      February 8, 2011

      Nnt saya liat kalo komputer sy dah beres :)

      Btw, kasih tau post2 barunya lewat twitter aja Fer ga usah lewat komen :)

  10. ailyn
    February 27, 2011

    just like the person that wrote this article, i also admire most the l”arc~en~ciel band even though many of my friends and family can’t relate to there song , i always listed to there beautiful songs
    . Year 1991 when the l’arc~en~ciel start their band, right?
    it’s also the same year of my birth so i’m so very happy to know it>..<

    • Novroz
      February 27, 2011

      Yeaaa…another Laruku fans :)
      Their songs are beautiful and I don’t care about what people think of them.

      • ailyn
        March 9, 2011

        wohoo!! many of my friends are also addicted now to laruku!!
        it’s look like i’m spreading laruku fever everywhere..
        i like it very much!!
        more power to all cielers!!
        i love hyde’s voice!! it’s make me inspired everyday

  11. ailyn
    March 15, 2011

    I’m so very sad for what happen in japan.. let’s pray for all of them and let’s help them even in the prayer.. i hope after that disaster in japan they can move on of what happen..
    i also wish that the l’arc~en~ciel is safe in there situation in japan.. let’s pray not just for the sake of all members of l’arc~en~ciel but for all Japanese victims of earthquake and tsunami

  12. ailyn
    March 21, 2011

    I’m so very excited for the upcoming commercial of l’arc~en~ciel the “pepsi nex”
    wow! hyde is so very handsome in him appearance ..
    he is so wonderful and cute while he sing the “i love rock n’ roll” theme of the commercial .
    i love pepsi.. i love hyde i love l’arc~en~ciel forever!!

    • Novroz
      March 21, 2011

      Upcoming commercial? Isn’t the pepsi ad already been released months ago?
      I also love that song…I love Rock n Roll Laruku’s version is very interesting…then again ALL songs by Laruku are very interesting ;)

  13. Kathleen
    May 17, 2012

    I’ve been researching for articles with complete information about the band. But did not find anything until I came across with your blog. Thank you so much! This one is very helpful specially to the newbies like me.

    • Novroz
      May 17, 2012

      You’re welcome Kathleen :)
      I think there are many sites out there that talk about Laruku, you just need to find them ;)
      My information is not always correct.

      • Kathleen
        May 17, 2012

        I’ve found a wordpress url for L’Arc as well but nahh… the info is not reliable… :) I think yours has similarity with what I’ve read in Wiki just yesterday.

        • Novroz
          May 17, 2012

          Thank you for saying that :)

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on January 7, 2010 by in L'ArcHolic and tagged , , , , , , , .

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 1,171 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Goodreads

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,171 other followers

