Polychrome Interest

A Random Blog of Everything I like

Salem’s Lot

I’ve just finished reading this book…it’s an old book by Stephen King, beside Haruki Murakami, he is also my favorite writer.

If you don’t know who Stephen King is, I have to say how poor you are!! King is the master of Horror and Thriller, there are so many movies based on his novel, the latest one is 1408. I really like his works even though I haven’t read all of his works due to the fact Indonesian people have little interest with this writer. I have read Rose Madder, Green Mile and Bags of Bones, and watched more than 10movies.

I have never really into Vampire and Dracula…After reading Salem’s Lot, even Stephen King can’t change my interest over vampire and Dracula. A movie based on this book was released on 2004.

Salem’s Lot took place in a small village in Portland in the year 1975. Ben Mears was a writer, not too successful yet some people still knew him. He went to a place where he spent some of his childhood time, the place was called Jerusalem Lot but they often shorten it into Salem’s Lot. At nearly the same time he arrived, other men came to this town too, they were Barlow and Straker. They opened an antique shop and stay in the most haunted house in the village, the Marsten House. Ben Met a woman names Sue Norton.

Weird things started happening not long after the arriving of Barlow and Straker, 1st a dog was killed and its head was hang in the cemetery. Then 2 boys were attacked, one cannot be found while the other one died a week later. His death was a bit peculiar, he was so white, and doctor said he suffered great anemia. But Mike Ryerson found the other fact of his death…soon after that Mike died. And things started going fast after this incident.

Matt Burke realized something wrong was going on his village, he teamed up with Ben. But at the end, this little team grew a bit larger, Sue joined in because of Ben, Father Callahan, Jimmy Cody-matt’s doctor, and last Mark Petrie. They were all ready to face the worst scenario…and sadly their struggles lead them to their death. 2 of them survived and able to killed Barlow. The event was too terrifying for them so they left the village. But something made them realized that they had to finish them all.

What happened next is something you need to find out by reading it yourself.

salem's lot book

I gave this book 2 stars (It was okay), I am not going to say that Salem’s Lot is one of the best Stephen King’s books…in fact, for me Salem’s Lot is one Stephen King’s lame books. You won’t find me reading it for the second time.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

2 comments on “Salem’s Lot

  1. Pingback: Cell « Boku No Sekai

  2. Dérick
    May 9, 2009

    You souldn’t tell the ENDING!!

    Novroz’ Answer
    Sorry…When I wrote this review I was still inexpereince in reviewing…but I’m getting better….as you see it in Dreamcatcher.

    I was planning to change it but something else always came up and I kept forgetting to do it

Say something so I know you have read my post, THANK YOU for reading :)

Information

This entry was posted on November 7, 2007 by in Excessive Reader and tagged , .

Movie Event

Thank you for following me :)

Join 1,155 other followers

Check these books!

RSS Celoteh Siswa

  • Kepribadian
    Hari ini, guru Bahasa Indonesia di sekolah meminta anak2 kelas 6 untuk membuat kalimat dengan menggunakan beberapa kata, salah satunya adalah KEPRIBADIAN. Salah seorang anak membuat kalimat yang menarik “Saya menyimpan kepribadian saya di locker”

COPYRIGHT

© Polychrome Interest [bokunosekai.wordpress.com]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. All requests to republish excerpts, articles, or photos must be made to the blog owner/author.

Top Rated

Tweeeeeettttt

  • RT @Cesarchud_: 🔫🌹G N Roses 🙉🙉Arctic Monkeys 🚪🚪The Doors 📻💆Radiohead 🔧Tool 🐁Muse 👅Rolling S 👊👊F. Fighters 🎮🔥Arcade Fire 👑Queen 🚶🚶🚶🚶The Beat… 5 hours ago
  • RT @davidehrlich: Radiohead is arguably the best rock band of the last 30 years, so why isn't their music ever used well in movies? http://… 5 hours ago

Goodreads

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,155 other followers

